Bas Lemmers's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 16 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Bas’s full profile.

Overview

  • 80 references 43 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning Spanish
  • 39, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Keep contractors busy
  • Cannot remember
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Freeway of the plains (wander if somebody knows what I mean by that)

ABOUT ME

I find it a bit hard to describe myself. But you can read some about me at the references.

Just like everybody else on couchsurfing, I like traveling and meet people from other countries. Obviously you too, Otherwise you would not be on this website.
Used to play the drums in a band with other couchsurfers. That was good fun. Nowadays I play in an improvised percussion group with sign language. That is amazing.
I like outdoor activities such as biking, kayaking, rafting and all of that stuff.
Cooking I like to do as well. One of the aspects that illustrates a culture is food. I am eager to learn to make something from the country I visit and try to make it myself.
I can salsa a bit though I consider myself rather clumsy.
By traveling and couchsurfing you meet so many people you normally would not do, such an enrichment.
It seems kind of nice to me to visit new places that are new to me. The places that are unknown until then. I do not mind to leave comfortable Amsterdam for a while.
Soon I am going to learn to become a glider pilot. Really looking forward to it.

PHILOSOPHY

2 beers or not 2 beers?

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Occasionally I host. I organise bike tours and sometimes host coffee meetup events. I did some Dutch teaching in the past too.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Fantastic. Impressive how couchsurfing can be such a nice part of life.

Interests

Enjoy life in every aspect. Listen to all kinds of music with an identity.
Drumming, cooking, bike, sail.

  • animals
  • culture
  • dining
  • cooking
  • beer
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • drums
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • kayaking
  • surfing
  • sailing

Music, Movies, and Books

Yo La Tengo, Deerhoof, Swevedrive, Spin Doctors, Queen, John Scofield, The Meters, James Carter, Prince, Juan Luis Guerra, Toto, Hendrix, Muse, Jamie Lidell, Afro Cuban music (salsa), in fact all artists that have an identity.

I seldom read a book. I can hardly find the time to do that and it also does not interest me so much. The same for movies.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Beyond words. Rather difficlult so select one. The experience of scuba diving and an earthquake.

Teach, Learn, Share

Some years ago I was teacher for Dutch lessons at the AmsterDutch and speakers corner. It was a nice thing to do besides the surfing and hosting.
Other couchsurfers underlined that is good to realize what you have instead of what you do not have.
A journey is described in experienes, not in distance.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Anything that you read from my profile that might seem interesting to you.

Countries I’ve Visited

Brazil, Cambodia, Colombia, Fiji, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands Antilles, New Zealand, Singapore, Thailand, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brazil, Indonesia, Netherlands, Viet Nam

Old School Badges

  • 5 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Bas’s full profile.

My Groups