Caroline Amelia's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 21 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Caroline’s full profile.

Overview

  • 5 references 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Hungarian; learning Icelandic
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • Studying languages and translation, selling pastries
  • University
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Couchsurfing with locals is one of the coolest ways of getting to know a place.
I appreciate honest and authentic exchanges between surfers and hosts. We are here to connect. Respect each other's space and time, whatever that means to each person. Listen and speak with care.
I am here to learn about life, the universe and everything else. I like to put myself in new situations to gain new experiences. We need each other to grow, to help understand ourselves and our lives better. I'm very grateful for everybody I've met so far, I always learn from experiences with others. In turn, I try to do the same for people around me.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To meet people and see places I haven't seen before. To open my mind more everywhere I go. To make friends in different places. To create a network of acquaintances who can help and support each other in a sometimes hard to navigate world.
At the moment in my current living situation I am not able to host, as I live in a small flat with two flatmates, and we don't have a living room. In the future I hope to be able to host and give back everything I've received in hospitality!

MY MISSION

To love fiercely, to share joy, share beauty.

Interests

I enjoy the city life that never sleeps, taking long walks and finding great spots. Good conversations with friends, long nights out, wine, bars with an atmosphere.
I feel at home in the calmness of nature and the mountains and lakes and forests. Smell of summer nights and early mornings, wind and rain, clouds, water and starry skies. Can't really stand the midday sun, but I've learned to love the summer heat.
Love swimming, warm or cold water, and saunaing. Love dancing and moving, yoga and jujitsu.
Love everything to do with words, poetry and writing.
I'm really interested in languages, and want to learn another one every time I meet someone who speaks theirs nicely. Also fascinated by listening to how careful and thoughtful people express themselves well through the limits of language. This sentence is not a fine example of what I mean :D
I love going to concerts and festivals, and experiencing what different types of music can do for the mind, this is when I feel most alive. I can most likely give you recommendations for stuff you'd enjoy.

Music expresses what cannot be put in words yet what cannot remain unsaid.
It's better in German:
Musik drückt aus was nicht gesagt werden kann und worüber zu schweigen unmöglich ist.
Victor Hugo

  • poetry
  • cooking
  • yoga
  • music
  • hiking
  • languages
  • health
  • festivals and concerts

Music, Movies, and Books

I listen to everything I find: ambient, psychedelic, prog, post rock, metal, electronic, techno, trance, experimental and alternative stuff, jazz, and old school classics.
Brian Eno, Mogwai, Devendra Banhart, Radiohead, Bo Hansson, Aphex Twin, David Bowie, Sigur Ros, King Crimson, Tool, Son Lux, AltJ, Jon Hopkins, Tipper, Carbon Based Lifeforms, Dead Can Dance, Nick Cave, Deafheaven,....

Favourite writing: Song of Myself by Walt Whitman, The Prophet by Kahlil Gibran

Currently reading:
How to change your mind by Michael Pollan
Steppenwolf by Hesse
4000 Weeks by Oliver Burkeman
A láthatatlan ember by Géza Gárdonyi

My favourite movie: Wings of Desire by Wim Wenders, and I loved C'mon, C'mon by Mike Mills.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

travelling alone from Finland, in Scotland, Orkney Islands.
Cold Swimming whenever I get the chance

Teach, Learn, Share

I can share some of my yoga practice, and the poetry I bring with me :) It's what I usually do in the morning so I can share that with anyone - even though I don't seem very sociable in the morning, these are my favourite things to do next to a cup of tea or coffee :)
I can also share my endless love for music and give recommendations for bands and albums you'll like. I'll make it my mission to find out what kind of music could enrich your life :D in turn I also try to listen to everything I'm recommended.
I can teach the languages I know, I've studied language so I have some understanding of them. Or just swearwords.
I know how to make vegan pancakes, you just have to ask for them cos I'm not an avid social cooker, but it can happen. I do love food.
I'd like to learn about anything you know about, I'm interested in pretty much everything.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Conversations, walks, food, chocolate, another perspective...

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Croatia, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Romania, Scotland, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Austria, Hungary

Join Couchsurfing to see Caroline’s full profile.

My Groups