Charlie McCollum's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Charlie’s full profile.


  • 15 references 10 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Hindi, Khmer, Nepali, Oriya, Spanish, Ukrainian, Urdu; learning Bengali, Bangla, Oriya, Spanish, Tagalog, Tamil, Ukrainian
  • 61, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Gardening, environmental projects, edible wild plant spec...
  • B.S. Physics, reading books, internet, listening to peopl...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Live natural life that does no harm

Having worked for Peace Corps as a volunteer for two years in Nepal and two years in Ukraine, I have come to realise the many good aspects of other cultures. I am a much better and happier person as a result.
Just want to be happy. Want to make the world a better place or at least avoid making it a worse place. Like nature. Like to study environment, health, community improvement. Enjoy living in rural third world countries where people still live naturally.
Have become very interested in organic gardening and am enjoying it very much.


I believe everyone should be happy, but to be happy we must understand the natural environment and must not harm it. I believe at least 99 % of people and jobs are harming the environment including myself. My goal is to change myself to not harm the environment and to be an example to others. I believe the clothing business is extremely harmful to the environment. I believe that most businesses are making frivolous consumer items that are not really necessary for people to live a happy life, and that these businesses are better to not exist for the sake of the environment and society. I believe more people should be involved in growing their own food as a way to help the environment.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Have enjoyed surfing people's couches and learning new cultures. Due to not having a permanent place and not being in a big tourist city, have not been able to host much. But have finally been able to host once in my bare spare room in Nepal. It was good to give back and hope to host more people in the future. I now have just moved to Gainesville FL and am able to host in my studio apartment. Just recently hosted my brother, who let me borrow his air mattress for a year. Still haven't completely furnished the place, but I do now have an air mattress, three used chairs, and a coffee table.

Addendum: Moved away from Gainesville, FL and moved to Denton Tx. Have my own house. Just paid the subscription and am looking for guests. You are welcome here. Looking for someone to stay here long term who can be in the house while I go on trips. You can stay a few days for free as this is couch surfing, After that please pay a little money so that I can use that money to pay my bills. Thanks


Have enjoyed meeting and staying at people's houses and having people stay at my house. It has allowed me to travel more cheaply and to experience the local culture more directly and to help out other travellers.


Chess, nature, travel, swimming, hiking, walking, reading, studying nature, environment, society study and improvement, languages, eating exotic fruits and vegetables, living natural life, learning self-sufficiency in food production and wild edible plant collection, playing piano, classical music.

  • culture
  • environment
  • walking
  • gardening
  • chess
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • classical music
  • piano
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • languages
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

Language books, community improvement books, environmental books, gardening books, nature books, all music, movies.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I saw an Indian man lift a heavy rock with his eyelid, using the aid of a small disc, and a two foot long cord connecting the two. I can explain this incredible feat to anyone who is interested in more details.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am skilled at living in third world countries on a low budget. Lived for one month homeless as an experiment. Am skilled at identifying wild edible plants across the world. Have 3 years organic gardening experience. Know some magic tricks. Know chess and play piano. Excellent swimmer.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Sharing our ideas, experiences, washing your dishes, helping with cooking, household chores, walk your dog, take you out to eat, house sit, etc. It all depends on the host. So just let me know.

Countries I’ve Visited

Bangladesh, Bolivia, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Kenya, Laos, Malaysia, Nepal, Nicaragua, Pakistan, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Romania, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Ukraine, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Cambodia, India, Nepal, Philippines, Ukraine, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Charlie’s full profile.

My Groups