Christine Hedbaut's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Christine’s full profile.

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, French
  • 61, Female
  • Member since 2023
  • Professional pet sitter
  • Certified Holistic Nutritionist & Chef.
  • From Montreal, Quebec, Canada
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

Hello beautiful community!
I am so trilled to be on here. I wanted to do this for years and I finally did it. I am excited.

A bit about me: I am a mature, 60, solo self-employed woman living her passion. I am a certified holistic nutritionist and former chef and restaurant owner. I love, love, love to cook healthy and delicious food. I love animals and children. I am an introvert, but friendly and social. Adore sharing meals and chatting about nothing and everything. I am a non-smoker and don't use any drugs. I have no addictions, except for coffee! I am very quiet, neat, clean and very respectful of people's home and animals. I have excellent references for you if you might want any.

I was born in Quebec, my first language is French, but I am bilingual with English. I am half French (France) and half Italian. I moved to Vancouver BC almost 30 years ago and still in love with it!
This is my for ever home. I love everything about Vancouver, the food, the people, the scenery, the nature...everything.

In 2021, I decided to go on an indefinite leave of absence from my work as a councellor and nutritionist to become a full time live-in house-pet sitter. You got it, I have no permanent home, but I have many homes I go to care for pets while the owners are away. I have built since 2017 a community of people that call me on a regular basis to come and care for their animals while they go away. I get often booked a year in advance. I only do it by donation, as for me it is an exchange for accommodation. I stay local and have no desire to travel to other countries. I love to stay and live in this beautiful community that Vancouver offers to me. I have done my share of travelling.

I also work as a contractor, with a local pet sitting company, that offers pet sitters to their clients to go for cat visits during the day while they owner are away on vacation. I get pretty busy with many visits per day, but I absolutely love it. I love this lifestyle. No stress. I feel free and enjoy life to the fullest. I live a pretty holistic lifestyle, surrounding myself with animals, great food and beautiful and kind people. I feel grateful.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Being a nomad , living this lifestyle, comes with a couple challenges.

First Challenge: I don't see that many people, being with animals all day. I don't have a pet of my own and have been solo for over 10 years but loving it. I also don't have children. My mom and my brother live in Quebec and I don't get to see them often.

I like the idea of meeting new people with Couchsurfing and perhaps make new friends.

Second challenge: Even though I house sit most of the time, I sometimes get cancellations. Also in between 2 sits, there might be a few days without a house. What I usually do is either, rent an RB&B, hotel, call a friend or often do car camping my little Kia Rio. That's right, in my car, but I have transformed the inside into a little camper sleeper with a very comfortable 7" foam, lots of cosy blankets and a very warm sleeping bag. I have the best sleeps in my little home on wheels. I go to community centres for hot showers and use all the different and clean laundromats around east Van. I often park in places where people know me or campgrounds. I am stealth, so no one knows I sleep in there. I am quiet, no lights, no noise and no garbage. I arrive at night and leave in the morning to go have my coffee at a local coffee shop.

Even though I love sleeping in my little home on wheels, I don't always feel safe. This is my last resort, however it is home for now. Rentals as become so expensive, I could not live this lifestyle having to pay for such a high cost just for renting a small room. So I am hoping to be a good guest in a home where I am welcomed and accepted and get to meet amazing new people.

Interests

  • animals
  • writing
  • cooking
  • reading
  • camping
  • foodie
  • driving

Music, Movies, and Books

I love old Jazz, Brazilian music, Bosa nova, Latin, Cuban jazz, oldies, Spanish, French.
I love psychological trillers, suspense movies, documentaries, drama and intelligent series.
I love to read self improvement books, natural and holistic medicine and nutrition books . I also love cook books from different countries.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I think I have done many amazing things in my life always following my bliss. But I have written a book, still in process of editing and rewriting in a different format, but it is a basic 400 page nutrition book.

Teach, Learn, Share

I love to talk about nutrition and how to stay healthy with the way we eat and live our lives.
I love to learn about new skills, new places and new ways to interact with people.
I love to share food, conversation and projects.

What I Can Share with Hosts

One thing for sure, I will keep your home clean.
Depending of our arrangements, I can help cooking, care for your pets. Also we can arrange so I care for your home and pet if you go away in the future.
I am open for suggestions and new opportunities.
I can share meal and great conversations.

Countries I’ve Visited

France, Italy, Taiwan

Countries I’ve Lived In

France

Join Couchsurfing to see Christine’s full profile.

My Groups