Fotos von Corwyn Evans-Klock

Verifiziertes Profil

  • Zahlungsart verifiziert
  • Handynummer verifiziert
  • Ausweis nicht verifiziert

Nimmt keine Gäste auf

  • Letzte Anmeldung vor 3 Tage

Registriere dich bei Couchsurfing, um das komplette Profil von Corwyn zu sehen.

Übersicht

  • 245 Referenzen 229 Bestätigt & positiv
  • Spricht fließend English, French; lernt zurzeit Japanese, Spanish
  • 33, Männlich
  • Mitglied seit 2017
  • Teacher
  • Bachelors in Chemistry, Masters in Education
  • Kein Heimatort aufgeführt
  • Profil zu 100 % vollständig

Über mich

I am a 32 year old, vegetarian, identical twin, third culture kid who loves to host travelers and learn more about the world and the wonderful people that cohabit it. I am currently a high school biology and chemistry teacher and I am extremely passionate about education. I recently moved to Japan from the US and I am eager to discover more about this beautiful and fascinating country! I will be terrible at showing you around as I do not even speak Japanese at all yet, but we can explore together!
My hobbies include reading, board games, table tennis, badminton, cycling, and I love long conversations/debates that go late into the night.
I grew up with friends from all over the world, and some of the best experiences I've had are making new global friendships and reforging old connections with high school friends (and their ever widening circles of new friends).
I am not sure how much I will be hosting in this first year of living in Japan. My amazing boyfriend has less experience (read: no) with couchsurfing and it might take some time for us to figure out what time and space we have in our lives for hosting.

Warum ich bei Couchsurfing bin

I love meeting new people - one of my favorite traveling experiences was spending an entire day with a stranger I met in a hostel in Salamanca, and we have stayed friends since.

I love seeing the world from others' perspectives and sharing my own thoughts and ideas about the world (late night conversations about philosophy, fiction, global politics, and/or anything else under the sea and sun are some of the most memorable times of my life)

While I was living in Las Vegas I was hosting A LOT, and I have zero regrets - each person was an intriguing new window into the world and the human experience. During the school year I may not have that much time to hang out, but I love sharing conversations, games, food, whatever time allows.
Some day when I travel around the world, I hope to be able to find locals who would be willing to share with me their cities, homes, and cultures. (and thank you to the many hosts that already have!).

Interessen

  • board games
  • reading
  • hiking
  • rock climbing
  • table tennis
  • badminton
  • teaching
  • philosophy
  • biking
  • exploring
  • learning
  • maps

Musik, Filme und Bücher

Music:
Musicals (Anything by Sondheim or Lin Manuel Miranda are my favorites), oldies (Leonard Cohen, Peter Paul and Mary, and Bob Dylan are some of the classics I always come back to), pop/other (Lady Gaga, Florence and the Machine, and Regina Spektor are some artists I enjoy).

Movies:
The Court Jester, The Sting, Juno, Priscilla Queen of the Desert, and anything Pixar, Star Wars, or Marvel.

Books:
(I can never do this list justice) The Little Prince, Iron Council, The Way of Kings, What Belongs to You, Cleanness, Hurricane Season, Exhalation, Educated, Name of the Wind, A la recherche du temps perdu, Monstrous Regiment, Protector of the Small, Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, The Vorkosigan Saga, The Gods Themselves, Oryx and Crake, Inda, Song of Ice and Fire, the Black Magician trilogy, the Mistborn trilogy, other bits and pieces of literature but mostly Science Fiction and Fantasy.
*recent book club reads: Maurice, A Taste of Honey, Devil in a Forest ... currently reading: The Future of Smart

Eine tolle Erfahrung, die ich gemacht habe

Human: I paid for one of my students to take the AP Chemistry exam because he and his parents didn't believe he could pass. He passed! Seeing how that accomplishment changed his self-image was amazing for me.

Nature: Walking under the stars in a desert in Morocco was beautiful, humbling, and inspiring! New: the 2017 total solar eclipse in Idaho was magical and I cannot wait to travel and see another.

Lehren, lernen, teilen

TEACH
I can teach you french or english, how to bake some delicious cookies/bars, some strategies for teaching and curriculum design, and of course, the basics of chemistry/biology.

LEARN
I am eager to learn about other individuals' perspectives on life, their languages, and their favorites vegetarian-friendly recipes.

SHARE
Book suggestions, board games, conversations, and life experiences.

Was ich mit Gastgebern teilen kann

Ideas and experiences.
Board games (I always have at least a few simple games with me).
Stories.
Teaching and curriculum design ideas.
Cookies (or cookie recipes).
Languages (French or English)

Länder, die ich besucht habe

Austria, Belgium, Cambodia, Canada, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Hungary, India, Italy, Liechtenstein, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Philippines, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, United Kingdom, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Länder, in denen ich gelebt habe

Japan, Switzerland, Thailand, United States

Registriere dich bei Couchsurfing, um das komplette Profil von Corwyn zu sehen.

Meine Gruppen