Dan Blucker's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 5 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Dan’s full profile.

Overview

  • 108 references 88 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 73, Male
  • Member since 2018
  • Retired librarian
  • MSM, MLS
  • From North Little Rock, AR, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I worked the Middle East and North Africa for many years before retiring in Dallas. I volunteer in the foster care system, the school system and a children’s hospital. I still travel internationally to new and old places every year, and look forward to making new friends hosting and traveling with Couchsurfing. I want to meet fellow travelers and share travel experiences.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I have had the privilege and pleasure on CouchSurfing to host or visit men, women and couples, gay and straight, young and older (and mature like me), nudists, adventurers, scholars and raconteurs. And I met many others through Hangouts and Events. I would be honored to meet even more. They enhance my very existence.

Interests

  • culture
  • theater
  • architecture
  • classical music
  • swimming
  • archeology
  • travel
  • dining out
  • gym
  • museums
  • massage exchange

Music, Movies, and Books

For music, it’s classical western music, as well as rock.
For movies, it’s foreign language and English language dramas and comedies.
For books, it’s Arabic language in translation, Scandinavian crime fiction, John Irving, Naguib Mahfouz, Orhan Pamuk, and Michael Pearce for example.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Literally bumped into Ugandan dictator and cannibal Idi Amin while working in Saudi Arabia.

Teach, Learn, Share

I would like to invite you on a walking tour of downtown Dallas and it’s historic and modern architecture, world famous art and culture, and the famous and infamous history. We can include a free ride on the restored McKinney Avenue Trolley, and stop off for lunch or dinner in the Uptown area, my neighborhood.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share conversation, jokes, and friendship. We can exchange our stories and experiences. I can also share the expenses and chores of my visits. We can host a dinner party here for other CS or friends in town.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Canada, China, Cyprus, Egypt, England, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Iran, Ireland, Italy, Jordan, Kenya, Lebanon, Malaysia, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Norway, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Scotland, Serbia, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, Vatican City State, Viet Nam, Wales, Yemen, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Egypt, Morocco, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Dan’s full profile.

My Groups