Denise Woodall's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 33% response rate
  • Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Denise’s full profile.


  • 15 references 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 51, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • graduate student and university faculty
  • current PhD student
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


to see and experience as much as i can.

I just finished my PhD and living in Roswell, Georgia.
I lived in Atlanta for 30 years I moved to Miami for a while, and Athens, GA. Done Europe: 12 cities in 6 weeks. My kid is now well into adulthood. I got my passport and ready to plan my next trips to Vietnam, Cuba, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Johannesburg, and Scotland, but really struggling on a teacher's pay. Beside my traveler dream details: I'm a Sociology professor and I'm opposed to all forms of oppression and exploitation....actively. I appreciate other social justice-oriented people. I've grown pretty accustomed to being non-wealthy and oppressed. so I'm great at adapting, detaching, accepting and making lemonade. so I'm a pretty good bargain hunter and i'm very creative when it comes to doing things on a budget. I'm social and looove meeting new people.


waste no time.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I think my biggest contribution these days has been hosting the House in the Park event for the PeachCrash every year. Many years running now (2015-2019), I, and another friend have setup the tents and have basically catered the event at grant park in Atlanta. It's a HUGE JOB. I haven't hosted too much in the last few years, but my time in Miami (2011-2013) gave me an opportunity to host surfers and get involved with CS events around town. I have stayed with people and i've offered coffee and a tour of town. My first year or so on CS didn't yield too many couch requests seeings how not too many folks are interested in marietta georgia, and i can't say that i blame them. I'm very comfortable hosting now. I love couchsurfers, i'm hooked...addicted. I wouldn't go anywhere without connecting with the local CSers. I'm always ready to meet more people in new places. And I really need to hear what people in this community have for suggestions on economic and sensible ways to travel.


stayed in Nashville, Jacksonville, and Miami. Now, I've stayed in rome, liverpool, and berlin with CSers. I Have attended CS gatherings in Miami, Atlanta, Chicago and here and there. I'd like to work my way out to Peru 2017. I traveled across the Northeastern US, managed to be with friends, but I stayed with a fellow couchsurfer in charlotte 2013. Maybe california, chicago, new york, nevada, arizona, boston, maine, or oregon next...I'm so ready.
Couple things down, 39,999 more things to go. I think i'll keep my Nashville stay in my experience for a while. a reminder...of my first little baby step accomplishment :) woo hoo!!! Now I try to host women as I can. I don't drink, so I can help DD sometimes, but I really prefer to host folks who don't get too smashed.


I'm interested in meeting laid back, but energetic folks involved in their world particularly along the lines of fairness, equality and human rights and most I'm Interested in progressive and truth in media as well as cats, figuring out how to make myself sit down and read, watching my daughter approach life, spending time with my parents, helping others, fighting for justice, dancing, sipping on tea, eating healthy, running, swimming, laughing, and absorbing all i can out of life. I wanna see more urban centers around europe and am planning on seeing some in central america, south america and africa. interested in teaching sociology and criminology and opening people's mind about race, or going to work somewhere that folks already understand injustices. I want to spend weeks at a time in other countries so i can fully absorb the culture and relax into the environment.

  • cats
  • culture
  • dancing
  • environment
  • human rights
  • dining
  • cooking
  • coffee
  • vegetarian
  • running
  • traveling
  • hunting
  • swimming
  • communications
  • teaching
  • history
  • sociology

Music, Movies, and Books

alternative, bluegrass, jazz, blues, 70's it all!!! lefty books and documentaries

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

done: been clean from all drugs and alcohol for 20 years... that's amazing!! I work with users trying to recover, and sometimes I've seen that...they do!!!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can talk politics.
I can tell you about how I got around europe on a shoestring. I'd love to hear about anything you know about south and central america, this is my next adventure.
I'd love to learn about the people and maybe even the labor movement in europe and how pressure from below make real changes.
I want to learn about everything that is Peru, chile, and Argentina.
I want to experience (within reason) what life is like in Africa....and drum with people and dance!!!
I see this is asked me what i can teach...well i certainly know all about sociology, I Can teach you about recovering drug users (haha if you want to know) The real history of the U.S., what not to do when applying to graduate school, how to roller skate and the best way to dance to bluegrass. I got a few traveling tips and experiences I could share. I can tell you about some wonderful couchsurfing people I've met, critical mass, the prison industrial complex, food labeling, and my unique analysis of american culture...I can cook something healthy for us...or share with you some great vegetarian friendly places around town.

What I Can Share with Hosts

my smarts, inspiring stories of recovery, and be a designated driver :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Denise’s full profile.

My Groups