Eli Duke's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 89% response rate
  • Last login about 3 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Eli’s full profile.

Overview

  • 41 references 31 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 41, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Web Developer / Carpenter
  • Indiana University Drop Out
  • From Noblesville, IN, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I grew up in Indiana and then moved to Seattle after I dropped out of college. I lived in Seattle for 2 years working at Nintendo as a Game Tester, and then I got a job washing dishes at McMurdo Station, Antarctica. It was such an amazing experience that I went back 4 more times, working with plumbers and electricians, and then working at the airfield fueling planes. In-between seasons I would travel the world. I was really living the dream.

But then I decided that it was time to settle down a bit, find a home base, and start building something that would last. All travel all the time was getting a little old, so I moved to Portland in 2013, figured my shit out, bought a house in 2016, hunkered down, nested, settled into my community, and then in 2022 I went back to Antarctica for the first time in 10 years, this time as a carpenter! It was glorious, and I am back in the travel / seasonal work game. Excited to get out there and explore again.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To meet knew people and see the world through their eyes!

Interests

  • dancing
  • motorcycles
  • live music
  • rock climbing
  • biking
  • programming
  • roller skating
  • carpentry

What I Can Share with Hosts

A semi-private bedroom with full-size bed and a futon/lounger in it, shower/towels, laundry, off-street parking, temporary storage, and a pretty chill space to recharge.

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Eli’s full profile.