Evgeny Popov's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 97% response rate
  • Last login about 24 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Evgeny’s full profile.

Overview

  • 94 references 80 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Russian; learning Spanish
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Accountant / English teacher
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Dear Couchsurfer, please read the profile very carefully (including the "My home" section)
Make sure to mention in your requests if you are ok with all the things mentioned in the "My home" section.
Don't just say "I'm fine with everything" but mention each point individually, please.

ABOUT ME

Well, it is hard to talk about yourself without being subjective, so I think I will just enumerate the mere facts about me:
1) I was born in the USSR, but grew up in Russia, live in Canada;
2) I used to be an English teacher;
3) I am married to a wonderful person.

As for the rest, I think at this point you can read the references I have received from hosting and surfing and get a somewhat objective picture of me)).

______________________________________________

I can ONLY host for maximum 2-3 nights.

I can host ONLY 1 person.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I heard about CS on TV back in 2010 (yeah, I watched TV back then) and became interested in it. CS is a really fantastic thing. Thanks to CS I've found lots of friends in Canada and in Europe. Several years after I had learned about CS I still think it's an amazing community to help the people you meet. I've surfed and hosted a lot and I really enjoyed it. The people I've met and the friends I've made are all fantastic people. It's cool to be able to share your experiences and travel stories with people from all over the world.

Oh, this is a very old description, but I will keep it))))
_________________________________________________________
Here is some update of my ideas))):
So, up to now, after almost 15 years on Couchsurfing I am still on the same tune of sharing and helping.
Unfortunately, there are a lot of people who take Couchsurfing just as a free place to sleep, which it is, in fact, and I am not denying it, but it is not a hotel or a hostel. So, you mustn't assume that it is absolutely fine to do whatever you want at your host's place or show up at 2 am after a party in a club or a rock concert. If you are planning to any kind of late nights you need to make sure that it's ok with your host and maybe you will better off at hotel or a hostel or any other kind of place where you will have all your freedom.

If you need something, just ask and your host will most likely be more than happy to provide you with the shampoo, toothpaste, towel and etc . What you need to do is never assume it and take it for granted. Just ask, please!

I have been receiving so many "copypaste" request recently, where people just say: "Hey, what's up? Got a couch for a night or two?" As I have already mentioned for me Couchsurfing is not just a free place to stay.
Thus any so called "copypaste" request will be refused. Try to make your request personal.

So what I mean by personal request:
1) it should contain the real name of a person you are requesting to stay with;
2) I expect you to read my profile and tell me why you want to stay at my place and not somebody else's;
3) you should mention if you are ok with the arrangements in the "My home" (read the " My home" section);
5) the rest is up to you.

Interests

I love snowboarding and every summer I am looking forward to winter. In summer I do some cycling.
I can say I love languages, but I guess it is not really a hobby, but a job.

  • movies
  • tv
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • snowboarding
  • teaching
  • languages
  • trampoline

Music, Movies, and Books

I don't have favorite music if I like a song I don't care about its style or whatever.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I think that the most amazing thing I've ever seen was The Grand Canyon. I'll never forget this view.

________________________________
Crossed Russia by train following the Trans-Siberian railway.
I met a lot of friends couchsurgfing in Europe during a 40-day journey.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you some Russian, English or French if you want.
I can teach you how to snowboard and ski.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share some travel stories I've had.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, China, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Mongolia, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Russian Federation, Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Evgeny’s full profile.

My Groups