Fernando Ruiz's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 92% response rate
  • Last login about 6 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Fernando’s full profile.

Overview

  • 7 references 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Japanese
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2022
  • Software Engineer
  • Bachelor's Degree
  • From Mexico
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Originally from Mexico 🇲🇽 now live in San Francisco 🌁, love to travel 🧳, read non-fiction 📚, photography 📸, TV 📺, hiking 🥾 and good food 🍱

I'm a Software Engineer by trade, and on my free time I like to spend time with friends or in the outdoors. In San Francisco, I love walking around the picturesque neighborhoods as well as going out for a hike around the Bay Area.

I also enjoy quiet activities such as reading and listening to podcasts in my free time. One of the most recent books I read was "The Devotion of Suspect X" by Keigo Higashino, which is a crime mystery novel. And one of the podcasts that I've been listening to is "Erika Taught Me" by Erika Kullberg which teaches financial literacy as well as many life hacks through her own experience as a lawyer and through distinguished guests that at some point in their lives were regular people breaking it big into one passion that they had.

One of my most recent hobbies has been trying to get informed about better financial literacy to set me up for success in the future, there is a lot to learn in this area and love to delve into all aspects and life hacks around budgeting and financial planning.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I joined recently by recommendation of a friend that has used it to travel around the globe and he gave me mostly good reviews and shared great experiences he had using it. I’d like to meet people from around the world and have a cultural exchange.

I'll be traveling around Europe on Sept 2023 so I would like to use this time as an opportunity to get to know and bond with the couch surfing community.

Interests

  • photography
  • tv
  • hiking
  • travel
  • photo
  • food
  • personal development
  • programming

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: Essentialism, Quiet, 1984, The Hunger Games, The Velvet Rage
Music: Alternative, Indie, Taylor Swift (big fan), The xx, Hot Chip, Moderat
Movies: Contact, Interstellar, Melancholia, Black Swan

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I moved away from my home town when I was younger and never went back. I think everyone should have the experience of living outside of their own cultural norms and conventions at some point in their lives. Also, lived in Japan 🇯🇵 for a while, it was great!

Teach, Learn, Share

I’m really good at making lists for anything, planning or organizing thoughts. If you need to organize something I can always help out.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Hmmm... this is a hard one, as I don't know what people value but I can always share my helping hand 😊

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Canada, Czech Republic, Germany, Japan, Mexico, Netherlands, Poland, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Japan, Mexico, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Fernando’s full profile.

My Groups