Kyle Penell's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 11 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kyle’s full profile.


  • 22 references 12 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Spanish; learning German
  • 37, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Web development and lots of other things
  • BA
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

updated October 2019: I have a couch in Berlin (neukolln) that I can occasionally host on.

updated January 2019: I'm living in Oaxaca, Mexico where I work remotely and do a lot of mountain biking and hiking. I have a spare bedroom in my apartment in la reforma.

Here's my hiking/biking site for Oaxaca:

👉 Probably not up for hosting a ton. But am open to the right people/persons. Namely people doing some sort of creative projects, mountain bikers/climbers/hikers/sailors/etc, acroyogis...would prefer to only host people with some references.


Hello there. I rode my bike from Rostock Germany to Berlin, Germany in July 2018 (I also rode a bit of Denmark). I'm currently freelancing and living in Berlin.

I like biking dance parties, potlucks, hammocks, acroyoga, a bit of Latin dance, reading too many articles, cooking north indian food, campfires, making maps, and digging for new music.


Looking simply to meet friendly/smart people with some similar interests in Berlin right now.



Connect people to music, nature, and each other.


Hello everyone,
I'm Kyle, I grew up in Washington State (Bellingham) and went to uni in Seattle. I started traveling at 18 and have spent a fair amount of time in Latin America and New Zealand. I spent a year in Bogota, Colombia where I learned Spanish, taught English, volunteered, and danced a lot of salsa.

I love meeting people, going to concerts, biking, hiking, camping etc. I also love stumbling, learning things online, reading too many articles...

I talk to strangers a lot, be it in bars or on the street, I get better every time...


Life is really short, time is really finite. We'll be dead very soon. You need to constantly strive to find ways to enjoy your life and contribute to the world that has given so much to you.

Thou shalt say hi and smile to strangers, it makes the world a better place to be.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Mostly as a surfer these days. I hosted people in my house in Seattle, have surfed in Mexico, and like going to the events to meet traveler type people.


Surfed a couple times in Mexico. Hosted in Seattle.


Camping, biking, backpacking, hiking, sailing, dance parties, reading, chatting, going for coffee, talking to strangers.

  • concerts
  • dancing
  • coffee
  • partying
  • boating
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • camping
  • sailing
  • house music
  • salsa
  • acroyoga

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Flew to Mexico and found a boat to crew on on the day 2!

Countries I’ve Visited

Colombia, England, Germany, India, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand

Countries I’ve Lived In

Colombia, Germany, Mexico, United States

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Kyle’s full profile.

My Groups