Louise Poulter's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Louise’s full profile.

Overview

  • 8 references 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning German, Russian
  • 35, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • English as a Foreign Language Teacher
  • BA German and Russian at the University of Exeter in Devo...
  • From Weymouth, England, United Kingdom
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To improve my competency in spoken German and Russian.
To push myself out of my comfort zone and challenge myself!

ABOUT ME

My fiancé and I live together in our house in south Wales with our two cats - Mickey and Biscuit :)
We've been renovating our house for the past two years, but there's still a long way to go since we're doing all of the work ourselves, but it means we've learnt a lot of new skills!

But sadly, I'm about to leave the three of them at home alone for a while, as I'm moving to Klagenfurt in Austria to take up a job as an English language assistant for eight months!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

My Couchsurfing experience so far has been great and I'd recommend giving it a go to anyone. I hope to finally be able to host our very own Couchsurfers once our house is finished!

Interests

I studied German and Russian at the University of Exeter, so I love hearing about anything to do with languages and the history of these two countries or any eastern European history.
Sadly, although I can still understand a lot, I've lost a lot of my fluency in these two languages, but I can still get by.

I love cooking, baking and being creative in the kitchen. I also love a good cocktail!

  • animals
  • cooking
  • cocktails
  • baking
  • walking
  • reading
  • crochet
  • history
  • languages
  • learning languages
  • chatting

Music, Movies, and Books

So far this year (2017) I've read:
The Highly Sensitive Person - Elaine N Aron
I thought it was just me (but it isn't) - Brené Brown
A Short History of Tractors in Ukrainian - Marina Lewycka
It's Not Me, It's You - Mhairi McFarlane
Outliers - Malcolm Gladwell
Big Magic - Elizabeth Gilbert
Lean In - Sheryl Sandberg
The Road Back - Erich Maria Remarque

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've climbed Ben Nevis twice, Cairngorm, Ben McDhui, Suilven and walked to the remotest pub in mainland Britain in Inverie.

HelpExchanging: Helping a couple to build a straw bale house in Denmark and working on a small organic farm in north Germany.

Travelled by train from Cornwall to Istanbul.

Teach, Learn, Share

I will always be willing to share my language learning experiences and help you with learning English.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Romania, Russian Federation, Slovenia, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Russian Federation, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Louise’s full profile.

My Groups