Maggie Stark's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Maggie’s full profile.


  • 12 references 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Marketing Specialist
  • Fine Arts and Marketing
  • From Chardon, OH, USA
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

I'm an artist at heart - my passions are film photography and interactive installation works. I enjoy wine, dancing, coffee, cooking, graffiti, architecture, politics, mythology, dark beer and satire. I'm serious about human rights and further developing my understanding of others' experiences. Listening to others will, I hope, guide me in a path toward further activism and deeper social movements to affect change.
I enjoy learning about... anything and everything. [I know, that's pretty generic] but I'm just trying to take in the world. I'm so interested in how others travel, really travel.. for long periods of time, and live and work and just make do. I'm terrified of hearing "that's a once in a life time experience" – because I don't want it just once. I don't want to visit EUROPE just once when there are +/- 50 countries on that continent alone to be explored.
Also, I've taken to heart when folks say "Oh, I wish I would have traveled when I was young". So that's what I'm doing. But it's not just travel; it's blended into a life and stories and card games and bad trips and great food at a smoky restaurant you stumbled into at midnight on your last night in Portugal with a girl you may never see again.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I enjoy meeting new people, exploring new places and taking in the true heart of a city. Feeling connected to a community through experiences deepens the moments I spend somewhere. I love to know the history and culture, the interworkings, finding the quirky markets and cafes that a horde of others haven't found yet or stumbling into public spaces where you can lay a blanket down and just enjoy the vibe around you - dancing, music, sharing a drink, sketching, playing cards, discussing the happenings around you. You need people for that, who live day to day in those places and to immerse you in those moments.

Although I am not in a position to host right now, I hope to host in the near future, wherever my next home may be! Right now I'm looking to be a surfer.

Music, Movies, and Books

Favorite Music - dnb, deep house, reggaeton, UK garage, rap, hip-hop, reggae, acoustic, bluegrass, anything with a saxophone riff, most live music .. and everything from O.A.R.
(also, deeply impressed by someone with a set of lungs or any musical talent, as I haven't mastered any sort of talent in that area)

Currently reading Angela Y. Davis' 1989 Autobiography, as well as her latest book: Freedom is a Constant Struggle – Ferguson, Palestine, and the Foundations of a Movement.

Favorite Books - Stiff, Bonk and Gulp (anything by Mary Roach), Mighty Be Our Powers, Stone Butch Blues, A Walk in the Woods, The Underground Girls of Kabul, The Chimps at Fauna Sanctuary, It's What I Do: A Photographer's Life of Love and War, The Meaning of Freedom: And Other Difficult Dialogues... and all of Rick Riordan's mythology series (I read them to my younger siblings).

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I drove across Ireland to the Cliffs of Moher... in what is probably a typical Irish rain storm, but to me was a tsunami in the pitch-black, back country roads which left one stray goat, a handful of near deadly turns and perfectly placed pools of water to skid on and by.

Also, I was unfamiliar with the left side driving shebang.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I would be happy to cook meals, shoot photography and set up small businesses' social media accts. [My real life job is in marketing]

I'm also fairly handy; I can help around the house and further, have a particular knack for picking out good bottles of Spanish or Portuguese wine.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Canada, Croatia, El Salvador, England, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Malawi, Mexico, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland, United States, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Maggie’s full profile.

My Groups