Maria  Valera's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Maria ’s full profile.


  • 146 references 118 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese (Simplified), English, French, German, Italian, Latin, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Turkish; learning Ancient Greek, Arabic, Arabic (Egypt), Greek (modern), Hindi, Indonesian, Japanese, Korean, Nahuatl, Persian (Farsi), Quechua, Sanskrit (Saṁskṛta), Vietnamese, Yoruba, Yucatec Maya
  • 38, Female
  • Member since 2006
  • Online
  • French, English, ELE, Classical Philology, Korean Studies...
  • From San José, San José, Costa Rica
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello everybody, I'm María Cecilia from Costa Rica and I have been on Couchsurfing for 16 years already. I move a lot as I work and study online. I am a translator, proofreader and language teacher, and I am currently in the last year of the BA in Classical Philology and I am also studying a diploma in Korean Studies, among others, such as a 3-year Modern Greek program and the University of Buenos Aires. As you can guess, I love languages, history and ancient civilizations. I also love exercising, yoga, gardening and plants in general! I have spent half of my life traveling the World and learning languages, and I have also been to nearly every country in Latin America.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love the kind of exchange and friendship one can build through this website, where you share and learn.


Traveling, languages, food, tea and fruits especially, plants and gardening, yoga, dance, textiles and sewing, nature in general.

  • literature
  • festivals
  • dancing
  • bachata
  • cumbia
  • cooking
  • exercise
  • yoga
  • running
  • walking
  • shopping
  • flowers
  • traveling
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • history
  • languages
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

I usually listen to Turkish, Arabic and Hindi music, but my playlists are extremely diverse.

Teach, Learn, Share

Would love to learn about your culture and your family, how the lifestyle is where you live, where your family is from, how you feel about your country,etc

It would be cool if you could write/speak to me in any other languages I speak if your native language is neither English nor Spanish.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Chile, Colombia, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, France, French Guiana, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Iran, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kosovo, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Macao, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Moldova, Montenegro, Myanmar, Nepal, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Norway, Pakistan, Palestine, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Spain, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, Costa Rica, Mexico, Russian Federation, United States

Old School Badges

  • 31 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Maria ’s full profile.

My Groups