Martina Novakova's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 26% response rate
  • Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Martina’s full profile.


  • 40 references 18 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Czech; learning English, Portuguese
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2017
  • Cat lover
  • Charles University in Prague, Faculty of Science
  • From Pelhřimov, Vysočina, Czechia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

! UNFORTUNATELY I don't have a couch now so if you don't mind "Floorsurfing", you are welcome! :-)

my name is Martina and I am from the small town called Pelhrimov (Czechia!). The most of year I spend in Prague because I study at the university there. I also work as a volunteer in the the international organisation called Use-It. We make maps of Prague for young travelers without any commercial. Do you want it? Check this website ( or ask me for a paper version.

In september 2018 I just came back from Portugal after one year and now I am trying to finish my master degree and start a new chapter of my life. I am a bit busy so I cannot host anybody but I am trying to do my best to host whenever I can. It helps me to keep my international spirit and I always like to show my nice city (Prague or Pelhřimov) to others. I am very bad at history and I know nothing about Czechia but I can show you Prague as a local or recommend you what is worth to visit in prague or wherever in Czechia or where to take a nice pictures on your instagram :-D

I am very spontanous and I am not able to plan more than 1 week ahead. It is better to send me a request 1 week before your arrival.

Feel free to ask!

If you are a cyclist, I also have a profile here:

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

It is not a cheap hostel, a tourist guide for free or a cook. Couchsurfing is the lifestyle that I love. It is the best way how to get to know a country and its culture. I have already met amazing people on couchsurfing who inspired me a lot and I believe i can meet more people like that. It opens my eyes and teachs me how to live in the world.
If I cannot travel, I want to keep my international spirit. During my travels I met so nice people who helped me even though they don't know me and now it is time to give all help back to others. :-)


  • reading
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • camping
  • hitchhiking
  • zero waste
  • long distance hiking
  • hiking in the mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

I love the sound of guitar while i am sitting by the fire/on the beach/in a forest/wherever. Guitar is always a good choice! Unfortunately I cannot play any instrument. If you play it, you will have a big chance being hosted at my place.

I listen to indie/folk mostly australian bands (Stu Larsen, Mighty Oaks, The Charity Children, Edward Sharpe, Wild Child, Of Monster and Men, The Lumineers, Vance Joy, Junius Meyvant, Jack and the Weater Man)
I read everything from Nabokov to Nesbo.

I used to watch a lot of movies but now I prefer being outside or with my book. I still like to watch something but not so often. But ... Have you seen Into the wild? No? Watch it!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

- bike trip from Czechia to Verona (2016)
- bike trip from Prague to Dresden in 2 days (2017)
- bike trip from Czechia to Beograd (2017)
- walking 80 km per 24h (2017)
- 1 year studying in Lisbon (2017/2018)
- Camino de Santiago from Porto (2018)
- my first solo trip to Azores without plan (2018)
- Fisherman trail in Portugal (2018)
- shepherd in Balkan (2019)
- GR221 Mallorca (2021)
- Peaks of the Balkans (2022)

Teach, Learn, Share

I love geography but I am still lost - in space and in time.
I don't cook but I can share my kitchen and my sarcastic humour.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share my place, crazy stories from my trips and also I can show you Czechia as a local and give you nice tips what you must see here before your leaving!
I call myself as an eco terrorist. I hate all plastic around us and wasting food. If you are interested in dumpster diving, I can show you some good places in Prague.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, England, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Jordan, Kosovo, Macedonia, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

Czech Republic, Portugal

Join Couchsurfing to see Martina’s full profile.

My Groups