Marcus's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 71% response rate
  • Last login about 13 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Marcus’s full profile.

Overview

  • 136 references 109 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Swedish; learning Finnish, French, Latin, Spanish
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Teacher
  • Looking for my place on this planet
  • From Spremberg
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I like:
- the Earth
- most of the people, their history and culture
- travelling: cycling, hiking, taking busses and trains around the globe
- presenting, talking, discussing
- sunshine and snow
- vegan food - just in case you want to prepare some food for me ;)
- things that are sustainable (ecologically, socially and economically)

I do not like
- other planets in the solar system
- ignorance (i.e. not reading the profiles before requesting)
- if my computer does not work

I live in Görlitz, right at the border with Poland and very close to the beautiful old town where everybody wants to go.

I want to see the world and talk to people, get to know their way of living. To me, that is the best way to learn and see: There is much more out there to see than you have seen so far!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I joined in 2008 when the community was quite original. Back in the day I was travelling through Canada for a year and I loved the idea of Couchsurfing. First of all to get to know locals everywhere I went, to understand sand explore the places more authentically - and of course because it saved me hundreds and thousands of dollars! I couchsurfed nine months straight in a row, visited about 60 couches all across Canada and parts of the US. I am very thankful for all these nice people that hosted me.

Since then I hosted many people in Weimar, Dresden and now in Görlitz. And every once in a while I still travel myself ;)

Interests

Travelling: Cycling, hiking taking trains and busses throughout the world
Maps of the World
Geography, History and Politics
Computer Science

  • politics
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • computer science
  • history
  • trains
  • busses

Music, Movies, and Books

I prefer to learn visually.
If you read this part of my profile and write "Horst" in your couch request, I will most likely host you.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Canada! - just too much to write it in here.
- Living and working in Vancouver
- Visiting the capitals of each province and territory across Canada
- Surfing inTofino in April
- Staying in Iqaluit (Nunavut) for a week - I went hunting with an Inuk and took dog sledge and skidoo tours on the Arctic Ocean
- Skydiving in Abbotsford
- Crossing the Rocky Mountains through the Icefields Parkway

Living in Finland for a year was exciting as well!

Traveling though the Lower Omo Valley in Southern Ethiopia was a life-changing experience.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teaching and Learning and Sharing as much as I can.
I would love to learn Spanish and French.
I can teach you some German, a bit about history, maps, computer science and whatever I am able to...

What I Can Share with Hosts

Passion and motivation to make the world a better place :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Estonia, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Hungary, Ireland, Isle of Man, Israel, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Scotland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Åland Islands

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Finland, Germany, United States

Old School Badges

  • 9 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Marcus’s full profile.

My Groups