Michael Bukur's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Michael’s full profile.

Overview

  • 10 references 9 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2017
  • PhD Student and English Teacher
  • Loughborough University
  • From Crown Point, IN, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

PhD student in Sport, Exercise and Health Sciences normally based in the UK, but currently living in Madrid conducting a research stay with an academic here. Alongside my studies, I also teach English to non-native speakers and work as a research assistant for a company that focuses on programme evaluation. In my free time, I am always exploring and trying new things. The best plan for me is when everything is new and improvised. I LOVE learning more about different languages and cultures. I speak Spanish and English but love learning little bits of other languages and about other places :) Also, I am a HUGE fan of arts and culture and am always looking for art exhbitions, film screenings, or even just getting food and drinks with friends... I consider any form of socialising a kind of art <3. The memories of connecting and sharing with people are the moments I hold the dearest in my life and that I am most proud of.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I am here to EXPLORE first and foremost. There are so many places and people to meet, and I have had the great experience of connecting with people from all across the world and different walks of life here on CS. There is nothing more human than connecting with other people, and CS has given me the opportunity to share so many precious and beautiful moments with so many lovely souls. I am here to continue to share and connect with anyone and everyone who I come across both in my travels and here at home.

Interests

  • cooking
  • running
  • music
  • film
  • language
  • comedy

Music, Movies, and Books

I am an indie-pop and alt-rock fan primarily; although always looking to expand my music taste. I am especially into Spanish indie-pop music at the moment. I just saw El Buen Hijo in concert here in Madrid and my top top favourite band is La Casa Azul. For me, the perfect afternoon is putting on music and chilling in a park or dancing around as everyone takes turns sharing their favourite songs and artists.

In terms of film, I am a devout follower and supporter of A24, but also love the more indie and locally distributed films. Recently I watched Chinas directed by Arantxa Echevarría, and I really want to see Past Lives :)

Although I don't read for pleasure as much as I would like, I do enjoy the readings I have been doing to support my work on my PhD. A favourite book I read recently was The Queer Art of Failure by Jack Halberstam. This book served as a huge inspiration to find ways to shake up my own scientific practice to start to break down the power structures of academic research and find a new path forward.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

One of my proudest moments was running my first marathon with my mom when I was 17, and helping to pace her to a qualifying time for the Boston Marathon. I have sinced continued to run another 10 marathons with my most recent marathon being with my mom again for the New York City Marathon.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you fun tidbits about the English language... but not those boring bits that most English teachers will teach you, but rather something more fun like Gen Z internet slang and funny regionalisms :) I am always looking to learn everything I can especially in terms of languages, cultures, and places. I am a voracious learner, hence why I am a PhD student and have stayed in education so long :/ And in terms of sharing, I can share everything I have. I don't have much, but I am always quick to open myself to people I meet and offer anything I have. Sharing is one of the purest virtues and I believe that whatever's mine is yours too :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share an openess and energy for life with my hosts. I always love exchanging languages and also sharing information that has come up in my research if someone finds it interesting. I have been reading lots about crafting communities of health and wellbeing and always love to share and discuss. And above all, I am open to everything and always love sharing experiences and moments :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Michael’s full profile.