Michael Richardson's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 20% response rate
  • Last login 10 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Michael’s full profile.

Overview

  • 13 references 13 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 59, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • Consultant
  • B.Sc.F.
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

PLEASE NOTE: I do not access my CS account regularly but I do receive notifications of requests etc. forwarded to a email account which I check daily. If you send a message or request I will get it.

I am awaiting your visit.

I have traveled from south of the Antarctic Circle to North of Quannaq, Greenland and many places in between. I love trees and nature and love an intellectually challenging conversation.

I act as a consultant in the urban tree world and teach and train.

I live on the route for most cyclists travelling along Lake Ontario and my place can easily host a cyclist (or three) and their bike(s).

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I am looking to meet interesting people and spend more time travelling while spending less money on hotels. I have hosted some very interesting visitors and find that budget travelers often have great stories.

I have the space and ability to offer room to those that are trying to explore and travel in a more responsible manner. There is no need to stuff into hotels and hostels when my space is available. I do ask that you make space available at your home for other travelers as a gesture of respect to those that have helped you.

While all are welcome I am implementing some rules and a list of things that drive me crazy:
- if you do not know ask,
- Do plan more than 3 hours ahead of asking to stay that same day, that being said I will help, even last minute, if I am available
- do not scratch and damage my nice things (other things are fair game),
- I do not have Wi-fi
- I am not always available so please take care of yourself,
- your schedule is not my schedule,
- if travelling during covid I might still be able to host.

You are welcome to stay, you are welcome to change plans (especially cyclists), you are welcome to bring your pet, you are welcome to eat what I have but recognize the difference between a hotel, a bed & breakfast, and couch surfing.

Interests

  • wildlife
  • flora
  • food lover

Music, Movies, and Books

The Who, Jazz, 60s, 70s

Lawrence of Arabia, well anything David Lean

Walking on Water, A Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovitch, Bruce Chatwin, Wilfred Thesiger

Doctor Who

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have wrestled a penguin to save it from dying entangled in fishing line. Who knew a 15 pound bird could be so fierce

Teach, Learn, Share

I love cooking so any chance for you to teach me a bit of your local cuisine is a huge attraction. I will definitely feed you while you are here. Cooking for one is a chore, so nice to have a second or third.

Brighton is the gateway to Prince Edward County and Presqu'ile Provincial Park

What I Can Share with Hosts

Great stories of some really remote locations, a clean quite room, lots of food, transportation to and from Toronto.

Countries I’ve Visited

Antarctica, Argentina, Botswana, Chile, Cuba, Denmark, El Salvador, England, Falkland Islands (Malvinas), France, Germany, Greenland, Honduras, Hong Kong, Iceland, Macao, Paraguay, South Africa, Swaziland, Sweden, Uganda, United States, Uruguay

Join Couchsurfing to see Michael’s full profile.