Michael Sonrode's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 0% response rate
  • Last login almost 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Michael’s full profile.


  • 9 references 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 47, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • High School English Teacher
  • Masters in Education
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am a father of four children- Finn (14), Maeve (12), Birch (8), and Harlo (6) and husband to my amazing wife (Angie) of nearly 18 years. We are an adventurous family that loves to travel and are excited to host travelers in our home. I am a high school English teacher and my wife Angie is a birth/postpartum doula and a real estate agent. We are all vegetarians, love music of all kinds, literature, baseball, film, and more.
Our most recent adventure is starting a nonprofit organization dedicated to helping mothers with postpartum body image. In fact, we are making a documentary film about this subject, will travel for the film, (recently to SE Asia and Australia!) and hope to use this network to make connections around the world!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

My family and I are couchsurfing simply because we love to travel and we are excited to host travelers in our exciting Minneapolis neighborhood. Our family of six is producing a documentary film for the next year plus and plan on traveling nationally and internationally to do so. We would love to use Couchsurfing as a means to meet locals and stay with people to help keep our travel budget realistic.


I personally love reading/writing, music of all genres, films, baseball, art, traveling, and nature.

  • arts
  • writing
  • literature
  • documentaries
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • cycling
  • baseball
  • teaching
  • parks
  • lakes

Music, Movies, and Books

My favorite music is punk/indie rock, but I like all genres and, in fact, used to play in several bands myself. Our family goes up to the Winnipeg Folk Festival every year and we frequently support Minnesota's thriving music scene.
My favorite film is "Amelie" (love everything about it from the cinematography to the soundtrack).
As an English teacher it is really hard to choose a favorite book, but since I teach it annually and know it so very well, it's hard to look past To Kill A Mockingbird...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

My wife Angie and I lived/traveled in a van around the entire U.S. in the spring/summer of 1998.

What I Can Share with Hosts

We can share a large 100+ year old house in a thriving, vibrant Minneapolis neighborhood. We are close to downtown, the lakes, bike paths, parks, theaters, museums, the ballpark, and tons of diverse restaurants/cafes. With six of us, we don't have a lot of "extra space," so are limited to hosting two, but we love this city/state, know a lot about it, and would love to share it with travelers.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Canada, China, England, France, Germany, Greece, Indonesia, Italy, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, Scotland, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, Taiwan

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Michael’s full profile.