Ryan Blackburn's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 65% response rate
  • Last login 37 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ryan’s full profile.

Overview

  • 59 references 40 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese, Korean, Russian, Spanish
  • 37, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • IT Consultant
  • Virginia Tech; University of South Carolina
  • From USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hola a todos! 大家好! Здравствуйте! 안녕하세요!

I'm Korean-American, and moved back to the US from Seoul, South Korea (Jan 2023) after living there for 6 months. In 2022 I was able to travel to Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan, Hanoi, Bangkok, and Sydney.

2023: Just went to Puerto Rico and Oaxaca, Mexico.
2024 (finished): Dominican Republic, New Zealand, Bali, Manila
2024 (next): CDMX, England, Ireland, Ecuador!

I've been living the past few years in California from an entire life on the east coast of the US. Looking to make a bunch of new friends out here. I moved to San Diego from San Francisco a several years ago. And I, for sure, have been bitten by the travel bug and aim to visit 3-5 new countries in the world each year. I would love to live and work overseas again. I've currently been to 48 countries in the world!

All of my most recent travel photos are on my IG: ryspyder

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I just moved back to sunny San Diego, and I'm now starting to host again!

I've already hosted a bunch of people in San Diego, Seoul, San Francisco, and Beijing. I've also been pretty active in the CS meetups app. If you would like to be my guest, please say something in your request that makes me know that you read my profile :)

I'm comfortable hosting 3-4 nights at a time. Also, it would be really helpful if you could request at least a week in advance!

Interests

Some interests of mine that come to mind right now are:
-running, lifting
-sailing (I can take you out sailing for a few hours, if there's good wind!)
-surfing (I have an extra foam longboard, if you want to try)
-wine/beer tastings, nightlife
-singing, beaches
-studying new languages
-snowboarding, skateboarding, scuba diving
-short trips to Baja California (Tijuana street tacos; cheap beer; wine country near Ensenada)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Thailand was an amazing experience. Night-life, cheap street markets, amazing temples, etc.

I loved my time in both Central and South America. Both the locals and the foreigners there were incredibly welcoming to me:) I will most definitely go back asap!

However, my all time favorite country to see was Kazakhstan. You can ask me why later!

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Denmark, Dominican Republic, France, Germany, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Macao, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Russian Federation, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Taiwan, Thailand, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, South Korea, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Ryan’s full profile.

My Groups