Osman Toksoz's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 7 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Osman’s full profile.


  • 31 references 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Turkish; learning Arabic, German, Spanish
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • No occupation listed
  • International Relations and Political Sciences
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Feeling home wherever I go


I was born and grown up in Istanbul where I completed my studies on International Relations, then had a master's in Bruges, Belgium.

I am currently working in West Africa, in Mauritania since early 2023.

I have been on Couchsurfing for over a decade now, to meet new people and get to know new cultures, try new food and drinks, learn and practice new languages and find hidden gems in the cities I travel to. I like to get out of comfort zone and try to discover new places, make lifelong friendships and share stories.

Previously, I also lived in Bordeaux for one year as an exchange student.

I am a huge fan of sports, especially football and basketball, but I also started to play padel here in Mauritania. Would be amazing to find a padel or pingpong partner! One of my first Couchsurfing experiences was watching a soccer game in the stadium of my favourite club with an Australian couple.

I am a language enthusiast with no limits! Despite not becoming fluent in some of them, I learnt many languages for at least a year! A Turkish proverb says ''One language (is equal to) one person, two languages (are equal to) two people''

I like cooking and trying new food, roaming around new places and learn about the stories of the places. I am an easy going and open minded person. I believe that the diversity is a richness.


Let the beauty we love be what we do. There are hundreds of ways to kneel and kiss the ground.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I read about Couchsurfing on a magazine and then learnt more on social media.


I have met great people from different countries some of which had an immense effect on my life, in a very positive way. When I turn back and look at Couchsurfing, I realize that my life could be totally different had I not discovered CS.


I try to improve my languages. I learnt French and Spanish, I used to speak German as well but I should practise it. Currently I try to learn some Arabic.

I'm also into food; I try to discover new restaurants often, even though options are very limited in Nouakchott. Still, I would be happy to show around for nice restaurants should CSers visit.

Oh and for sure, I love to take photographes, mostly with my phone but still, I enjoy making the moments immortal with photos, and sometimes share on instagram. (my username is osmann175) I would love to discover the most picturesque places of the cities I visit📸 Any tips on this would be awesome.

Last but not least, I believe in the power of getting out of comfort zone. I believe that, if a thing makes you afraid, it is because you should do it🙌 With this spirit in mind, looking forward to more lifechanging CS experiences.

  • languages
  • travel
  • food
  • tv series
  • football
  • gym
  • padel
  • ceramics

Music, Movies, and Books

I am interested in TV series with some of the tv shows I like:
-The diplomat
-How to get away with murder
-The Leftover
-Stranger Things
-House of Cards
-After Life

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Riding camels to spend the night in the middle of Merzouga desert in Southeastern Morocco, eating local food while watching thousands of stars on the sky and staying in an old style tent before sunrise camel ride! That was in 2016, and now I live in a country where I can do these much more easily. The lesson I learnt: enjoy every moment the maximum possible! Something I can do where I live now was once an incredible experience with unmatched excitement for me.

Participating a local festival in Man, Ivory Coast where the tribal chiefs led us to a forest to feed the little chimpanzees by hands! That was in 2017. Trying traditional clothes, singing local music and staying with amazing Dan people in Tonkpi region.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach Turkish language and food, to play tenis, ping pong or padel, to take good photographs with phone

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share my knowledge and my positive mood with the hosts! My cooking skills, hobbies like shell collecting or sports, culture, art and all other activities with joy!

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Belgium, Benin, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Czech Republic, Côte d'Ivoire, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Macedonia, Mauritania, Morocco, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, France, Mauritania, Turkey

Join Couchsurfing to see Osman’s full profile.

My Groups