Praveen Narangoda's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Praveen’s full profile.


  • 3 references 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Sinhala, Sinhalese; learning French, German
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • PhD Researcher
  • Masters, Bachelors
  • From Colombo, Western Province, Sri Lanka
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Originally from Sri Lanka, I studied in US and then moved to Europe for masters

Engineer in training... now training to be a scientist; currently working on my PhD research in Mülheim ad Ruhr

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I am still a beginner to the Couchsurfing...I am slowly getting involved with organizing Düsseldorf couchsurfing meetings, opening the couch at my apartment to the couchsurfers, and soon hopefully experience the couch of another...

Traveling is my passion, since it really changed me for better. I love to learning about different places, people and the related culture and customs; To get humbled by the diversity and complexity of the world

I find couchsurfing concept as a nice way to meet real, local people while I travel. Rather than just following the Tripadvisor, or join Free Walking Tours, meeting with locals, either by staying with them or meeting up, would give a much fulfilling experience

Fellow couchsurfing hosts can make the experience truly local. Their stories about their city/town can be truly fascinating. Their advice could save me money and time, and help you experience something very personal, unique for my visit.


Traveling...the most interesting thing...then photographing all the interesting things I see

Reading...books from politics, history, philosophy, evolution, cognitive science, economics, and social Sci-Fi, thrillers, romance, adventure, mystery, biography

I love cooking... especially Sri Lankan and Indian Fusion with other international cuisines like Mexican, Chinese, Italian and Thai...I am very very proud of my Chicken curry!!!

I am learning to play guitar as way to engage in something artistic (other than photography) says playing an instrument improves cognitive skills :D

Related to my work...I am into renewable energy, use of nanoscience/nanotechnology for future

  • photography
  • cooking
  • reading
  • traveling
  • guitar

Music, Movies, and Books

Rock, Alt. Rock, Piano and Ensemble...recently I am into heavy metal like Iron Maiden, Metallica, Pantera...

Epic/Historical drama (especially if its inspired by true events), Biographic
Sci-Fi movies (Star Wars fan) and waiting for the movie/TV adaptation of The Foundation series by Asimov
Adventure movies (LOTR fan)
Game of Thrones, Big Bang Theory, Modern Family and Westworld (wide spectrum)

Books (ones I absolutely love)
LOTR, Foundation series, Harry Potter series, God Delusion, One Hundren Years of Solitude, Green Mile

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

For me, Hiking the Polish Tatras mountains was the most amazing experience so far...

Teach, Learn, Share

Something about Sri Lanka, or interesting things I have learned from traveling and living in different places, countries.
Since I did most of my secondary and higher education in English, I can teach it a bit, explain you some stuff you have doubts on
Teach everything I learn in science :D

Learn -
About YOU, and people I get to meet and know, their background, their wisdom and experience on things that interest or applies to me...
When I am traveling I like to learn facts and trivia, myths and local stories...At every major city I visit, I try to join a tour group to learn something interesting about the city, its notable residents, specific places..

Share -
The story of my life :)
Anything I can, especially to someone staying with me or meeting me
Sri Lankan Cooking and any advice on visiting Sri Lanka

What I Can Share with Hosts

A meal prepared by me... Sri Lankan fusion (spicy/hot, mild, tolerable) :)
My perspective of the cities, regions, and countries I have been to
My experience or even the little opinion I have about many things I read, learn or experience...

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Poland, Slovakia, Spain, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Germany, Poland, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Praveen’s full profile.