Reinout Miedema's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Reinout’s full profile.

Overview

  • 341 references 288 Confirmed & Positive
  • Ambassador
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, Western Frisian; learning German, Spanish
  • 39, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Carpenter
  • Lawschool
  • From Netherlands
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm Reinout but my friends call me Ropy. If you need a place to stay let me know.

I don't mind copy paste requests.
You don't have to read my shitty profile either.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Because of CS I:
Spent the craziest night of my life in the desert in Iran.
Lived on a super yacht for months in HK.
Acquired a whole new family in Nepal.
Went on a the biggest trip in my life in Egypt.
Became very fast at making beds.
Made friends all over the world.

Interests

Friends
Music
Movies (Especially old ones)
Fixing stuff

  • diy
  • vegetarian
  • drinking
  • motorcycles
  • gardening
  • movies
  • board games
  • chess
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • camping
  • history
  • travel
  • nature
  • freedom
  • people
  • vegetarian food
  • sea
  • jungle
  • desert
  • couchsurfing
  • campfires
  • weightlifting
  • alternative lifestyles
  • motorbikes
  • punkrock

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: La meglio gioventu, Dog day afternoon, Boy and his Dog, Buffalo '66, Taxi driver, Pulp Fiction, everything from Kubrick everything from Werner Herzog everything from Wes Anderson and a whole lot more

Music: Punkrock, indierock/pop, sing and songwriter, new-wave, and a whole lot more

Books: Orwell, Hemmingway, Remco Campert, Reve, Mullisch, Wolkers, Heinrich Boll, Albert Camus

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Went on a motorcycle ride to Sweden for a couple of weeks, ended up in Azerbaijan a couple of months later. (2017)
Quit my desk job
Drove around Honduras for a couple of months on motorbike. (2008)
Drove my bike to South Africa! (2022/2023)

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you how to live with little money, repair electronics and basic weightlifting.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Hospitality, a guest room, food and drinks, WiFi, shower, towels and a bunch of bicycles. Basically anything. Even though I don't have hair myself I do have a hairdryer.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Angola, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Cameroon, China, Congo, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Côte d'Ivoire, Denmark, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, France, Gabon, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Iran, Italy, Kosovo, Kuwait, Laos, Latvia, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macao, Macedonia, Mauritania, Mexico, Montenegro, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Norway, Panama, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Scotland, Senegal, Serbia, Sierra Leone, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam, Western Sahara

Countries I’ve Lived In

Honduras, Hong Kong, Netherlands

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Reinout’s full profile.

My Groups