Francesca Basile's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Francesca’s full profile.

Overview

  • 7 references 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish; learning Arabic (North Levantine)
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • Project Manager
  • Master in International Solidarity Action and Social Incl...
  • From Barberino di Mugello, Florence, Italy
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION:
Be satisfied and accomplished about my life.
Be happy with my job and enjoying life travelling the entire world, step by step, with my camera, my smile and my desire and curiosity to know and share with people of different ages, genders, religions, cultures, sexual orientation, origins, etc.

ABOUT ME:
Simple, flexible, sensitive, empathetic, capable of listening, open-minded, loyal, honest, tenacious and adventurous. Clearly I also have many flaws, which I am aware of and have been working on in depth for years.

So far I've been studying International Cooperation and Migration and working as project officer, gender focal point and social educator with migrants and refugees, mainly women and minors, in Italy, Spain, Greece, Jordan and Ecuador. Currently I am finally back to my home town (Bologna, Italy), working as Project Manager remotely and enjoying life with my partner.

Having lived abroad for several years and in different countries has enriched me and made me grow a lot, but I don't deny the difficulties of always changing places and never feeling completely at home, so I finally decided to return to my origins in looking for stability, after so much freedom. But I think the two things can go together, you just need to find the right balance, and I'm working on this. So, despite the stability, I would like to always keep that free and adventurous part of me active. For this reason I always try to keep on the move with trips, even if short, but do as much as I can and in the least touristy way possible, trying to get in touch with the people and habits of the place, almost to the point of camouflaging myself, even if we know that a white and blonde girl doesn't always go unnoticed ^^

However, sooner or later, I would like to realize one of my biggest dreams: a whole year just traveling around Asia. I've been saying this for years, but there's a reason it hasn't happened yet. Sooner or later I know I will do it, because when I want something, it comes at the right time.

WHAT I LOVE:
I love photography and travelling, expecially the slowlier travels (backpacking-hitchhiking, cycling or walking) to discover every time something more about myself (in order to improve) thanks to every meeting that allows me to share and learn something from everyone about experiences, interests, hobbies, culture, opinions, values,...
I use to find something in common with everyone in order to share, otherwise just respect everyone and learn from different ways of thinking and living.

PHILOSOPHY

My motto is "Happiness is real when only shared".

And more:

"From diamonds nothing born, from manure flowers born"

"See the nation throw the people eyes" (the main meaning of my tatoo)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Firstly I was hosted in Portugal where I did my Erasmus few years ago.
Then, when I came back to Bologna (where I was born) I started to meet people from all over the world in order to keep my "Erasmus' attitude" and I'm still in this mood.

Interests

- Photography, expecially outdoor (street -markets- and nature)

- travelling

- social inclusion projects for migrants and refugees,with gender focus.

- OUTDOOR ACTIVITIES: hiking, cycling trips and skiing mainly and I did some climbing. Especially, I did the way till Santiago and over (till the Ocean). I'm always open to discover other kind of outdoor activities.

- COOKING different dishes, especially the traditional ones of the countries where I have lived (Italian, Portuguese, Greek, Spanish). Moreover, I love Indian, Marocco and Middle East food (Syria, Lebanon, Palestina).

- SINGING

- FOLK DANCES and PERCUSSION (African especially)

- YOGA-MEDITATION

- swimming

Finally, I'd like to learn something about ECOBUILDINGS AND AGRICULTURE because I always dream to became auto-sufficient producing and maybe sell food, natural products, clothes and handmade stuff, etc.

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Dead Poets Society, Into the wild, The way (to Santiago), 6 ways to Santiago, Black cat white cat (Kosturiza).

Music: Alt-J, Modena City Ramblers, Stato Sociale, Calle 13, Mellow Mood, Caparezza, Alborosie, Bregovic, Ska-p, 99 Posse, Sud Sound System, Beirut, Mumford and sons, Notre Dame de Paris, Coldplay, REM, Battisti, Battiato, De Andrè, Genesis, Linkin Park, Breil, Manu Chao, Matisyahu and more.

Books: The way to Santiago (Paulo Coelho), Los Diarios de la Motocicleta (The motorcycle's diaries), The women's coffee, The Alchemist (Paulo Coelho).

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Walking all the way to Santiago and to the Ocean (about 950 km). Actually my best experience. The most crazy and amazing one! Really strengthened me and taught me a lot about life! :)
So many wonderful people i've met! Everyone taught me something and sharing joys and sorrows with them was the best gift ever! :) I'll never forget them!

Teach, Learn, Share

I love sharing something about experiences, interests, hobbies and skills (expecially photography) and I'm always open to discover and learn new stuffs.

I'd like to learn cooking some local dishes and I'd be glad to teach the italian ones and other dishes from countries where I lived.

What I Can Share with Hosts

In addition to my culinary skills, I'll be glad to share interest and hobbies like hiking, cycling, photography, yoga and meditation, skiing and more.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Colombia, Croatia, Cyprus, Ecuador, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Jordan, Morocco, Netherlands, Palestine, Poland, Portugal, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Ecuador, Greece, Italy, Jordan, Portugal, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Francesca’s full profile.

My Groups