Rulong Cao's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Accepting Guests

  • 0% response rate
  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rulong’s full profile.

Overview

  • 9 references 9 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese (Simplified), English; learning Finnish, Spanish
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2017
  • Student
  • Master
  • From Urumqi, Xinjiang, China
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Emmm, I was born in Umurqi, which is a relatively small city in China (still 5 million population there) and grew up there. It is located in the central part of Eurasian land and that's why it is the farest city from the ocean in the world! (I kindly remind you never eat fish there XD) BUT actually it's a paradise for foodies! I promise that you will be able to eat exotic cusines without repetition at each meal for at least 1 week ! ALL KINDS OF FOODS ARE READY FOR YOU! Besides, my province is the largest province in China (Almost five times larger than Finland... No offence to Finalnd, just make a comparsion beteen my hometown and where I am living now XD), so that you can see all different landscapes there: Desert, Mountains, Prairies, Oases, you name it! It's a perfect place for either individual backpackers or couples! The fact is that it's so far from other main cities that a lot of Chinese people consider it is an unique and EXOTIC place...

Then I moved to Beijing in 2013 for my bachelor's degree when I was 19 years old, and was living in our historical capital for the next 4 years. Though the weather condition sucks during the winter times and it always incredibly crowded in public transportation and historic sites (actually almost everywhere...), I still appreciate this city a lot and really enjoyed the life there. People there are open-minded and warm-hearted. My limited horizen was greatly broadened in this super megacity and that is part of the reason why I am now in Europe, in such a facinating place continuing my master's degree.

Now I am studying Wood Materials Science in Joensuu, a tiny city in the middle eastern Finalnd and close to the border between Finland and Russia. I enjoy the quiet and sample life here, and warm-hearted (Shy) Finns are really interested. I feel like I am having a sweet Scandinavian dream, living in a place where you don't need to lock your bike when you go to a supermarket, a place where drivers always let you go first on the roads, a place where you are able to pick up all kinds of berries and mushrooms without limitation in the forests during the summer and autumn. HOWEVER, the price of all these dearms is that you have to suffer from the forever darkness (at least 6 month winter and you need to supply vitamin D during then) and extremely chillness (-25 degree in the coldest times). Well, I survived here finally and I am sure you will also!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

A friend of mine recommended it to me last semester, and shared some of her some cool experiences from her hosts, that's how I got to know this app. At the begining I thought since it's free, why not! So before I traveled to Estonia, Lativia and Italy, I paid for the membership fee and found some locals from these three countries.

Honestly my plan was to earn back the money that I paid for membership fee and the fact is that not only did I earn it back but also gained some good talks, companies, and a bunch of friends, which was far beyond my expectation!!! Every of my CouchSurfing experience will be my invaluable and precious memory and accompany with me until I go to tomb XD !!!

Apprently, Couchsurfing is the cheapest method to travel unless you plan to sleep on streets... It provides backpackers the chance to know the people from all over the world, and it connects the people who have same interests and helps you know not only more about different cultures, but also their real lifes which might illuminate your life, and encourage you to learn from their experiences or their own personalities.

As for me, I am always a trustworthy listener if you talk a lot. I especially love to hear different stories from different people! I am kind of young but more mature compared to my peers cause I ask and listen to people's stories and follow people's advice! But I can also talk endlessly if you are good at listening... I would like to tell the most impressive and breathtaking places that I've ever gone, the weird and creppy stories that ever occured to me, and some bad jokes if you don't like my stories ...

I am not sure if I will still use it when I grow older (the voice inside my heart said me a big NO...), when I get married and have children, when I get a decent job and earn a five or even six-figure salary and when my body get weaker and doesn't listen to my brain with a growing age (That's a sorrow part but I admit it). Soooo, now I need to take advantage of my young age, try as many new things as possible, get to know as many fun people as possible, explore as many places that I want to go as possible!

AND ONE OF THE MOST IMPORTANT THINGS: USE COUCHSURFING AS MANY AS POSSIBLE TO SAVE MY POOR POCKET XD....

Last thing, all backpackers are welcome, I also would love to host! But I am afriad that no one comes to Joensuu so that's why I still don't get any sufers from other countries...

Interests

  • photography
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • hiking
  • sports
  • basketball
  • english
  • backpacker
  • gym
  • watching series
  • lonelyplanet

Music, Movies, and Books

Moives
I am telling you that I am obsessed with all kinds of movies except American Hero series... I used to choose movies from IMDB scores so that I watched a lot of western moives!!! I really admire these two talented directors: Christopher Nolan and David Fincher. I almost watched all of their movies: Memento, Inception, Dunkirk, Seven, Flight Club, Social network, Mindhunter, House of Card...
By the way, I am soooo crazy about that American series "Friends" and Japanese cartoon "One Piece"... I couldn't even count how many times that I've ever repeated watching them, laughed and cried when it comes to the most funny and touching parts!

Books
I don't know that much about western authors either... I read 1984 and Animal Farm farm from George Orwell, and I like these two books a lot though they have almost the same metaphor. Oh, also the other two dystopia novels: Brave new world and We. Last semester I read The Moon and Six Pence and The Razor's Edge from Maugham and I liked them a lot so now I am focousing on his another masterpiece: of Human Bondage.
Also I read some Chinese classic literatures... Talks are welcome if you are interested!

Music... well...
I used to listen to Westlife and Backstreet boys when I was in elementary school, influenced by one of my best friends. Then I started to listen to some Chinese songs: songs from Jay Zhou, Leehom Wang, balabala... Until now...
I will appriciate it if you share some of your favorate singers from western world....

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

When I used to hike in a national park with one of my best friends in China, in order to get inside the park without paying the ticket, we went through a desolate path and lost our direction at dusk... We encamped in the middle of nowhere and slept in out tent for that night... It was chill, kind of hopeless but we saw the starriest
night that we've ever seen in our lifes! Luckily we found the track the next morning and we finished our 80km hiking plan within 4 days. It was kind of insane but it does definitely worth it!

Teach, Learn, Share

After reading this much of text, I hope you've already known what we gonna learn, teach and share with the other!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I am a lazy cook and I would like to cook scrambled eggs with tomatoes, this the most commonly cooked dish among Chinese oversea students for you. Though I've been told it's not just a Chinese home cooking, I insist that every Chinese oversea student would say so, and nobody doesn't know how to cook it!

Some local stuff from Finland or China, depends on where I am before I visit you!

Some together time of watching movies or TV series, good conversations while hanging out, etc.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, Czech Republic, Finland

Join Couchsurfing to see Rulong’s full profile.