Sabine Falk's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 80% response rate
  • Last login 10 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sabine’s full profile.


  • 42 references 39 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Spanish; learning French, Italian
  • 50, Female
  • Member since 2017
  • teacher
  • 2. Staatsexamen LA Gym
  • From Dresden, Saxony, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Please note: we are in the middle of moving and can’t host at the moment.
We generally don’t host for one night and prefer to host over the weekend. Make sure to read the home section before sending a request. We want to get to know you and will try to spend some time together with you.

We’re a family, my teenaged son still lives with me. I’m a very active person with lots of things on my schedule (typical teacher who always complains about correcting tests!) I enjoy outdoor activities and a healthy life style. I like low budget traveling and upcycling.

We have a pretty organized family life with fixed meal times and pretty early bed times. With friends and family we like cooking, playing board games and watching movies (there's a great video rental just around the corner) but we usually don't party or go out a lot. We have a piano, a guitar and a ukelele at home but we can play only little (however, musicians are always welcome!).

Dresden is great for cycling and we can lend you a bike if we don't need it.
I'm talkative and open-minded and enjoy interesting conversations over coffee and cake. However, I'm not the caring mother-type of person who cooks, washes and cleans for you. I appreciate independent people and any help in the household. That's the sort of win-win situation I'm looking for.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Love the nonprofit idea of sharing!
Every guest brings new inspirations...
Want my kids to grow up in an open-minded, intercultural and multilingual environment...
Table games are more fun with more players!
And cooking together always turns out to be a nice surprise.


  • environment
  • movies
  • minimalism
  • piano
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • kayaking
  • camping
  • skiing
  • badminton
  • jogging
  • family
  • upcycling
  • video editing
  • flea markets
  • reading novels
  • low budget travel

Music, Movies, and Books

classical music (Chopin!), jazz and blues, singer and songwriter like Silvio Rodriguez, Latin American and world music, pop from the 70's and 80's, international radio stations

all sorts of books by great authors like Margarete Atwood, T.C. Boyle, Ken Follett, J.K. Rowling, Isabel Allende, Kafka, Milan Kundera, Juli Zeh, Hermann Hesse, Stefan Zweig, Benedikt Wells...
I love movies in general, pretty much everything from James Bond to Almodóvar, except for horror! My favorites: Forrest Gump, Truman Show, Groundhog Day, Midnight in Paris, House of the spirits, fresa y chocolate, Volver, the secret life of Walter Mitty, the imitation game, hidden figures, Yuli ... Travel documentaries like Paddel the World or Weit (about people who travelled around the world).

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The drastic change in East Germany after the wall came down!

My high school year in upstate New York.

Student life in Argentina and Chile.

Having kids and raising them.

Teach, Learn, Share

It's my job to teach people and I guess this is hard to switch off. Languages are my passion and I'm always eager to teach and learn new words and phrases of any language.
Traveling also means to come home eventually and to see everything here with different eyes. I really appreciate living in such a beautiful town with marvelous surroundings and would love to share this with others on outdoor trips if time allows.
I also like having company for the theater or concerts.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Well, I'm communicative and love chatting with people. I'm pretty good at baking, too, and can help around the house and garden. I like kids and dogs and can play with them. Love to go for long walks with a dog! If you have kids who struggle with homework, I can assist.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Canada, Czech Republic, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Spain, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Argentina, Chile, Germany, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Sabine’s full profile.