Eric Leonhard's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 3 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Eric’s full profile.


  • 237 references 206 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 37, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Dating Coach (yes, seriously)
  • Bachelor's Degree in Psychology
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi! I'm Eric and some of my favorite activities are parkour, swing dancing, and kangoo jumping (google it)! When I am not bouncing around all over the place, I am most likely working hard at my career as a dating coach... yes, really. My company helps both men and women with their dating/attraction concerns. Surely, this is a very rare career and has been a huge point of intrigue for couchsurfers so I am always happy to discuss it (incase you are curious, my website is I have also held previous careers such as outdoor survivalist, psychology researcher, and auto-damage adjuster.

Other fun facts about me:
-I have a fondness for vietnamese culture that borders obsessive.
-I hate cheesecake. Cheesecake as a food is a ridiculous concept.
-I am an expert level outdoorsman and I can teach you how to survive while living in a snow cave.
-My one truly unique odd talent is the ability to suction my hand to my eye socket. Ask me to demonstrate sometime :-)

If you bite the hand thats feeds you, it wont taste as good as the food you would have been fed.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I have been hosting for 15 years and have had countless positive experiences! I host frequently in an effort to help as many travelers as possible (Portland sure is a popular place to visit!) and believe strongly in the exchange portion of the CS mission. If I CS request you, its because I took the time to read your profile deeply and think that we will connect well.


  • festivals
  • dancing
  • swing dancing
  • cooking
  • magic
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • camping
  • rock climbing
  • psychology
  • parkour

Music, Movies, and Books

I like to dance to swing!
For listening music, I prefer an indie-rock lineup. Artists such as Kishi Bashi, The Magnetic Fields, Belle and Sebastian, the Animal Collective, and The Decemberists are all favorites.
I dont have the attention span for books!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The 3-week long hike on the John Muir Trail in the Sierra mountains -and-
The Burning Man festival!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach/share the following:
-Anything related to dating/coaching. I am known for giving hundreds of dollars of free work and profile reviews to couchsurfers!
-Psychology research and skills (from fun-facts to practical applications such as use of body language)
-Expert level outdoor adventure skills, ie. backpacking, rock climbing, etc. I formally taught classes on these subjects.
-Swing dancing
-Auto/car appraisal, various mechanical skills (formerly I worked as an insurance adjuster).

I would like to learn most anything, especially practical skills (like sewing technique) or skills that are particularly odd or bizarre that can be used to impress people (like how to do magic!).

Countries I’ve Visited

Armenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cambodia, Canada, China, Colombia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, France, Georgia, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Montenegro, Myanmar, Oman, Philippines, Poland, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Eric’s full profile.

My Groups