Shannon Hess's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 0% response rate
  • Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Shannon’s full profile.


  • 30 references 24 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Basque, Dutch
  • 36, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Spanish Teacher
  • Universidad de Salamanca
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


to let the world know it's loved


I've been in Raleigh since August 2014 where I'm a Middle School Spanish teacher at a small independent school. Beforehand I was in southern Pennsylvania. I graduated from Eastern University in the suburbs of Philadelphia in 2010. I studied Spanish and Education. After graduation college I moved to a small town in the middle of nowhere La Mancha Spain without knowing anyone there or anything about the town, and I worked as a teacher's assistant teaching English. I love people, cultures and languages. I´m always smiling. I love making people laugh. I love traveling and meeting new people, especially those who aren´t afraid to be themselves and who appreciate people who are different from themselves.

I will probably not accept a surf request if your profile is not complete.


most people ask "why?" I always ask "why not?"

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I have surfed several times, hosted into the double digits , met up with others for drinks/lunch. All were fabulous experiences.


so far I have surfed in Madrid, Santander, Zurich, Baretswil, Bern, Bayemón Puerto Rico, Tours (France), Paris, Cary NC, Salamanca, Asheville, Charleston, Atlanta ,Greenville, SC, and. Panajachel (Guatemala). Each experience has been unique and amazing, inspiring me to travel more.


Having fun. Spreading joy. Experiencing new things. Fútbol. Running. Yoga. Music. Teaching. Traveling. Reading.

  • education
  • coffee
  • yoga
  • running
  • drinking
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • soccer
  • teaching
  • languages
  • tours
  • fútbol

Music, Movies, and Books

I love basically all types of music (really, that´s no lie). I´m not hard to please with books, music or movies either although compared to most I haven't seen too many movies. My all time favorite book and movie is the Outsiders.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Packed up some stuff and moved to Spain all on my own and moved to a town where I knew no one, nor what I was really getting into. And I loved every minute of it and would totally do it again!

One of the favorite things I've seen: the tiny Swiss town from which my ancestors came from in the 1700's. Super unique experience

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, Czech Republic, El Salvador, France, Georgia, Germany, Gibraltar, Guatemala, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Panama, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Spain, Switzerland, Ukraine

Countries I’ve Lived In

Mexico, Spain, United States

Old School Badges

  • 3 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Shannon’s full profile.

My Groups