Marlene Winell's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Marlene’s full profile.

Overview

  • 2 references 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese (Simplified)
  • 68, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Psychologist, screen writer, photographer, swimmer.
  • Ph.D in Human Development and Family Studies
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To visit Oaxaca to help my grown son who is sick

ABOUT ME

I'm single and semi-retired, although quite active. I am a mother of two grown children and grandmother to two lovely girls. I've always enjoyed traveling when possible. I grew up in Taiwan and then went to school in Southern California and Pennsylvania where I graduated as a psychologist. I lived in Colorado for many years and then Australia and California. I now live in Massachusetts where I share a home with great roommates and two cats. I like to live simply and artistically. I believe in social justice for all. For fun and exercise I like to swim; I love theater and movies and I take photographs.

PHILOSOPHY

Live simply so that others may simply live.
Live with intention, love with abandon.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I've been away from couchsurfing for a few years but I'm glad to be back. Right now I'm on a mission to go to Oaxaca, Mexico to help a sick person.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

In Rome and in Bari, Italy - a great time!! Also Housten, Texas

Interests

Swimming, art history, psychology, history of religion, funky art, exploring beaches and other beautiful landscapes, art museums, reading, writing, eating, being a good friend, a good parent, and a good therapist.

  • arts
  • writing
  • photography
  • dancing
  • dining
  • italian food
  • cooking
  • gardening
  • reading
  • traveling
  • swimming
  • art history
  • history
  • psychology
  • religion
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

Everything that has some intelligence, humor, humanity, and values.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Snorkeled at the Great Barrier Reef. Hiked a glacier in Alaska. Gave birth to a baby.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: how to care for indoor plants, English, communication skills, Chinese cooking

Learn: cook Italian food, improve Mandarin

Share: concern for the oppressed, passion for life, making art, learning Chinese

What I Can Share with Hosts

Conversation, plus any of the above

Countries I’ve Visited

Cambodia, China, England, France, Indonesia, Italy, Malaysia, Mexico, Mozambique, Netherlands, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Hong Kong, Taiwan, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Marlene’s full profile.

My Groups