Uzma Jafri's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 12 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Uzma’s full profile.

Overview

  • 49 references 10 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Hindi, Norwegian, Urdu; learning French, Spanish
  • 41, Female
  • Member since 2017
  • Corporate Recruiter
  • Bachelors Degree
  • From Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Sometimes we focus too much on our pain and less on all the joy that life has to offer us and will continue to offer us.

*Fully Vaccinated*

I was born in Norway and moved to Canada with my family as a preteen. Canada is what I consider home (Toronto in specific). Lived in Austin for 9 years then to Chicago for 5 years - and just moved back to Canada!

I live to travel, and if I could, I would be working remotely for the rest of my life, hopping from one country to another.

Here is a suggested walking path for Toronto:

[  ] Distillery district
[  ] St Lawrence market (good choices of food - closes by 6/7 pm)
[  ] Harbourfront
[  ] Beavertails (145 Queens Quay West) try the beavertail its a dessert not a real beavertail its a pastry popular in Canada
[  ] CN tower from outside
[  ] Royal thomson hall
[  ] OCAD (Ontario College of Art and Design - beautiful building)
[  ] Four seasons centre for performing arts (nice building see it from outside)
[  ] Gardens of the Osgoode Hall (Osgoode Hall has the provinces highest court- see it from outside)
[  ] Nathan phillips square (take a picture of the Toronto sign)
[  ] Toronto city hall
[  ] Toronto old city hall
[  ] Eaton centre (Mall) - walk through it inside and exit to yonge and dundas square)
[  ] Yonge/Dundas Square
[  ] Kensington market and chinatown
[  ] University of Toronto Faculty of Engineering (University of Toronto is the biggest and oldest university in Toronto)

Other places
Niagara Falls.
(You can buy an annual pass for two vehicles for $45 https://www.niagaraparks.com/visit-niagara-parks/plan-your-visit/parking-pass/ )
Toronto Islands - 10 minute ferry ride from downtown Toronto
Riverdale Park East - great skyline view especially during sunset
Casa Loma
Toronto Zoo
Ripleys Aquarium
Bruce Peninsula
1000 Islands
Prince Edward County
Algonquin Park
Manatoulin Island

Live music:
The Cameron House (cash bar)
The Rex Hotel Jazz and Blues

I enjoy good conversations with locals and world travelers, hearing everyones dreams and life stories, and sharing meals with locals.

I would like to lead by example and show my daughter that theres a lot of good human beings in the world and to keep being kind to everyone - love will always overcome hate.

Life is beautiful, and I would like to enjoy every moment of it.

Enjoy yourself - It IS too late

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love meeting locals when Im travelling and getting the opportunity to share a local meal with them and explore the area.

Interests

I love learning new cultures and travelling, making new friends and hearing their life stories.

  • yoga
  • travelling
  • healthy living
  • anything outdoors
  • cooking and baking

Music, Movies, and Books

Book - George Orwell's 1984

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Dinner in Lima, breakfast in Cancun, then supper in Mexico City.
Meeting 2 couchsurfing girls (Urska and Anita) who all stayed with my host and impromptu travelling to Banos, Ecuador with them for a week. It was a trip of a lifetime due to great company and a great host who was willing to host all 3 of us.
Travelling to Paris solo and meeting awesome CSers whom shared a local meal with me and showed me the city
Hiking to Macchu Picchu
Visiting the Amazons and making food with the tribe
Seeing The Coliseum in Rome
Duoro Valley! Hidden Portugal gem!

Teach, Learn, Share

I am a recruiter by profession and am happy to review your resume, guide you in your job search, including prepping you for an interview - or requesting a salary review!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can teach Pakistani/Indian food and American, I can also teach you some baking and cake decorating skills, provide you with good company, and get you connected to other CSers who can host you in the city (since I live in the burbs) and we can all show you our beautiful city!

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Canada, Chile, Denmark, Ecuador, England, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Iraq, Italy, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, Norway, Pakistan, Peru, Portugal, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Norway, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Uzma’s full profile.

My Groups