Barbaros Uçar's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 94% response rate
  • Last login about 20 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Barbaros’s full profile.

Overview

  • 138 references 107 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Greek (modern), Spanish, Turkish; learning Portuguese
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Physician
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Meeting new people and cultures and improving an international personality

ABOUT ME

I am a young doctor, a sailor, a swing dancer as well as a nature and hiking lover who is originally from Izmir but has recently relocated to London.
Well,it may be a usual description as many people do but I am an open-minded,tolerent,adventurous person and love discovering new cultures and places.
Besides this,I am a typical Mediterrenean guy with roots from Balkans who was brought up in an environment with family members spending most of the time together,having big tables with variety of vegetarian food,speaking loudly with mimics excitedly and swimming!
I love multicultural lives and feeling it around myself.I'm also very sensitive to environmental problems,human rights and freedom of people.

PHILOSOPHY

When you give positive energy to the planet,you just get back the same...So smile,enjoy,love people to be happier!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I heard the story of a friend who hosted a guy from Canada and their still continuing contact.In the same week,another friend whom I met by chance in a concert told me how she became a member of CS community and recommended that to me too!So now,I'm here!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Very soon ;- ) !

Very nice experiences in many European and Latinamerican countries and my home country Turkey surfing and hosting friends from the UK,Russia,Croatia,Greece,Bolivia,Argentina,Austria,Spain!

Interests

Local cultures and cuisines,
Swimming and sailing,
Hiking the mountains,
History and politics in historical conjuncture,
Contemporary art exhibitions,
Street Art,
Greece,
Jazz and wine
Anything vintage,
Lindy hop,
Traditional dances from Aegean

Music, Movies, and Books

I listen mostly to ethnic music of Aegean and Meditarrenean and Brazil.jazz,bossa,blues,reggae,electro and electro swing - and recently some indie.Dinah Washington,Billie Holliday,The Who,Sume,Edith Piaf are in my favourites.But I can enjoy easily with any kind of music.I love clubbing and partying too!
Books - mostly on cultures of different countries,history and books about Izmir.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've crossed the Atlantic by hitchiking on an old, 35 foot small Norwegian boat built in 1972 with no luxury you might expect on a sail boat under harsh conditions, challenging against the high seas and strong winds in the ocean starting from Puerto de Mogan,Canary Islands,Spain to Barbados in 30 days 11 hours 40 mins making around 3000 miles (5500kms) in the sea!!!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you to dance to Aegean folk songs and Lindy hop!
What about some local recipes from Mediterranean shores?

What I Can Share with Hosts

I am full of travelling stories.Why not to have a fun chat over a couple of beers?!

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Argentina, Austria, Barbados, Bolivia, Brazil, Cabo Verde, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, Ecuador, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Kenya, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Paraguay, Peru, Russian Federation, Rwanda, Serbia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Tanzania, Uganda, United Kingdom, Uruguay, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brazil, Turkey

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Barbaros’s full profile.

My Groups