Alexa R's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 57% response rate
  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alexa’s full profile.

Overview

  • 15 references 10 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2018
  • Rehabilitation Aide/Occupational Therapy Student
  • Masters in Social Work/ISA Certified Arborist/Cosmetology...
  • From Chicago, IL, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello! I'm Alexa. I enjoy experiencing everything I get the chance to! I usually don't get scared to do things, but I get scared of missing out. I'm high energy but also relaxed, and I organize my life around being able to travel (though that is difficult within US culture), and I’m always trying to expand my horizons with an open mind. I have many interests including, nature, hiking, camping, yoga, fitness, dogs, cooking, baking, reading, travel (obviously), and self improvement. I enjoy doing adrenaline activities when I travel such as bungee jumping or canyoneering, and I live for trying new foods. I love learning about almost anything, especially other people. I’m terrible at dancing and singing but I love both things, and I'm not a big partier at home but I love to experience the nightlife when I'm traveling! I am currently returning to school for occupational therapy to help others be involved in what brings meaning to their lives. I'm really excited for this career because I'm always interested in what makes people 'tick', which is also one of the things I love about traveling! My main goal is to have fun and to learn more about myself and others.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I took a chance trying couchsurfing and spent two months in Argentina only staying less than a week in hostels or airbnbs. I wanted to experience local culture, meet people, and see where it took me, and I was not disappointed. Usually I take very structured trips, but couchsurfing introduced me to a richer, fuller, more present way to travel, and the hospitality, generosity, and kindness I experienced have had a lasting impact. Truly, a stranger is just a friend you haven’t met yet, and you never know who or what is waiting around the corner for you. The friendships and experiences couchsurfing has brought me will live in my heart forever, and I hope to continue with it in my travels.

I live about an hour away from Chicago in a small town, so my house is not very convenient to stay, but I do have an extra bedroom and would be open to hosting under special circumstances 😊 I love this couchsurfing community and would love to be able to give back.

Interests

  • dogs
  • cooking
  • yoga
  • meditation
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • adventure travel
  • food
  • learning new things
  • learning
  • meeting new people
  • learning spanish

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Made it to Antarctica, after what felt like many attempts! My last continent to go is Australia.

Teach, Learn, Share

I would really love to learn Spanish, am open to teaching English, sharing stories, laughs, customs, cooking, dancing, and general cultural exchange! I am also a certified arborist so I'm pretty good with some plants! If you host me, I would also be happy to help you clean, organize, cook, or take care of pets.

What I Can Share with Hosts

My cheerful spirit and my English! Haha and some assistance cooking, cleaning, taking care of pets, good company. I love to make people laugh and have a lot of energy but I'm also clean, quiet, helpful and respectful. I treat other people and their spaces the way I would expect and appreciate in return. My airbnb reviews speak for themselves haha!

Countries I’ve Visited

Antarctica, Argentina, Brazil, Cambodia, Canada, Cayman Islands, Greece, Mexico, Morocco, Namibia, Panama, Portugal, Thailand, Turks and Caicos Islands, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Alexa’s full profile.