Adam Blokus's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 10% response rate
  • Last login about 11 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Adam’s full profile.


  • 148 references 110 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Polish, Russian, Spanish
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Software Engineer
  • PhD in Computer Science
  • From Sopot, Pomeranian Voivodeship, Poland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CONGRATULATIONS! At this point you've already read more of my profile than most other people looking for a couch;)


Go everywhere, meet everyone, see everything!


Hi! What can I say about myself? I feel a constant need to see new places and meet new people - When I'm staying at home it always seems to me that I'm between travels (right now - I just came back from a one year long trip in South America after finally finishing my PhD). Even my professional life has always been connected to traveling (like working for a university and attending conferences or working in the airline industry and enjoying the employee tickets ;) ).

What is important for me in any new place is getting to know it in all possible aspects - by spontaneous decisions, finding wonderful views on my own and talking to strangers. I especially value hitchhiking as the best mean to get a better understanding of a visited country.


Most of the time - I try not to plan too far ahead and just enjoy the 'now' :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I both host and surf couches. Also, I try to be active at the local CS community and set up CS meetings wherever I go to.


The most amazing host I had was Luca from Tbilisi in Georgia - he answered our request with a single note about where he hides his key! It was a wonderful stay, and a chance of experiencing couch surfing brought to an even higher level than usual :)
After having this and a lot more great experiences as a surfer - I started hosting people May'10. The guests I had until now really turned out to be great people!


- Traveling, traveling and traveling again! I'm always making plans for new trips and trying to 'recruit' people to join our crew for upcoming journeys.
- Learning and practicing foreign languages.

Music, Movies, and Books

Music - rock'n'roll, rockabilly, reggae

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

- I learned Indonesian in three months for a trip - reaching a basic conversational level (don't remember anything anymore, though...)
- The Ausangate Circuit hike in Peru - five days between 4200m and 5200m above sea level, carrying all food and equipment and cutting down a day from the typical crossing time
- Seeing the total solar eclipse in Chile in 2019

Teach, Learn, Share

I am especially eager to learn languages, and that is the reason for which I am favoring native German, Russian and Spanish speaking couchsurfers quite a lot, sometimes finding time to host them when there is none ;) In exchange I can teach the languages which I know. Also, some of my traveling stories, tips and tricks prove to be useful for other travelers - maybe you could use some of them, too?

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bolivia, Bulgaria, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Chile, Colombia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Estonia, Ethiopia, Georgia, Germany, Indonesia, Iran, Italy, Kazakhstan, Laos, Lithuania, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Morocco, New Zealand, Paraguay, Peru, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Slovakia, Spain, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Uruguay, Uzbekistan

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Poland, Spain

Old School Badges

  • 5 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Adam’s full profile.