Sha Sha .'s Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 12 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sha Sha’s full profile.


  • 99 references 66 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Sign Language - American
  • 40, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Maintain happiness
  • Life is an education
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

I like thoughtful conversation even though I understand that small talk sometimes can't be avoided. There is also a place for silence, and I appreciate that we don't need endless chatter just to fill the space between us.

I've been wandering around for a couple of decades living the work to travel lifestyle. I can tell you about roadtripping around the States in my car for 1.5 years, doing a working holiday visa in Australia for a year, buying a campervan in NZ and driving it around the islands for a few months, working on a science station in Antarctica, or taking it back to my first solo excursion when I moved to London after university followed by backpacking around Europe. Things have changed a bit since that last one when I didn't have a smartphone and my first stop was always the tourist office for a paper map.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

We've all heard "you let strangers come into your home" or "you go into strangers' homes and sleep on their couches" asked with surprise. People who share and open their homes are a special breed. We know the world can be a shit show, but just as much as I believe in the bad in the world, I firmly believe in the good. I get tired of the convos about how the CS website/attitude has changed, and you can't find quality people anymore. You can. You just have to seek out the ones with whom you jive the most.


I like to do things in the company of good people. I enjoy all of the following and most other activities in between:

  • bachata
  • cooking
  • live music
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • languages
  • volunteering
  • laughing
  • learning
  • salsa
  • sustainable living
  • growing plants
  • puns
  • discovering street murals

Music, Movies, and Books

Books! I read everything I could get my hands on as a kid. My favorite genres were Adventure/Sci-Fi/Fantasy. I still enjoy those and have been reading a lot of memoirs more recently.

I grew up on 90s Hip Hop and RnB, so that music will always hold a spot in my heart, but I like listening to most genres.

I was one of those kids that could tell what time it was by what was on TV, I watched it that much. I still like it, but I know I'll get sucked in, so I now view TV and movies as a social activity. Down to watch something with friends and only a little on my own. Comedies, stand up, documentaries, nature and cooking shows are some of my favorites.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Gone out into the world alone and learned what it takes to make it through.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can now say I've taught salsa dancing lessons in Antarctica so I can show a few moves. Always down to learn a new partner dance. The day I stop learning is the day I die. In the last couple of years, I've taken Spanish classes, swim lessons, a bike mechanic workshop, and have been studying American Sign Language.

What I Can Share with Hosts

All of the conversation or silence; your preference. Respect for your place and cleaning up after myself. Travel stories. Laughter. Cooking.

I LEAVE REFERENCES! They make Couchsurfing better.

Countries I’ve Lived In

Antarctica, Australia, United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • 3 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Sha Sha’s full profile.

My Groups