Alberto Aguirre's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 96% response rate
  • Last login about 7 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alberto’s full profile.

Overview

  • 163 references 131 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Dutch, German, Portuguese
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2018
  • Architect/Graphic Designer/Teacher
  • Bachelor's
  • From Maracaibo, Zulia, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

The adjetives that can describe me the most are easygoing, passionate, curious and creative.

I was born and raised in the hottest and coolest city from Venezuela and for many years I wanted to travel around the globe and later on when the country started to collapse... That dream switched to my new goal, as now I needed to find a new place that made me feel like home. So after obtaining my degree and saving a lil bit, I put my life in a luggage, had some sad goodbyes, and left!

Since then I lived some time in United States and Europe. Most of the time I've lived in big cities, so I feel at ease surrounded by buildings and crowded places, but I also did some volunteer work in the countryside, so by now I've done almost any kind of job you could imagine.

I recently moved to Rotterdam, starting a new life, if you happen to visit and want to hang out let me know! And if you'd like to be hosted, read my house section, as there's more information there that needs to be addressed if you want me to take your request seriously.

If you wanna contact me, it may be quicker through instagram (and that way you save a message in case you don't have unlimited ones) my user is @a4shots.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Before the first experience I was a bit hesitant about it because sadly, in Venezuela crime and corruption has run rampant for many years. So trusting that strangers could be so selfless, friendly and welcoming towards strangers from other places seemed too good to be true.

Luckily on my first experiences I made pure and eccentric friendships, realizing that just like many travel biographies, the journeys get a lot more flavor from the people you meet. Often becoming the most heartwarming memories from the trips, so it helped me overcoming my trust issues and restoring my faith in humanity in some way.

There's also a lot of empiric knowledge within the community, over time I've experienced and learnt many details that used to be outside of my environment before. After having so many adventures here, I joke with the idea that I've stories for every subgenre there is, some funny ones, scary, drama, romance... you name it.

Interests

  • animals
  • arts
  • books
  • poetry
  • architecture
  • design
  • tattoos
  • music festivals
  • comics
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • drawing
  • music
  • guitar
  • hiking
  • rock climbing
  • archeology
  • history
  • comedy
  • calisthenics
  • excercise
  • scary movies

Music, Movies, and Books

-Music: Grew up with different influences, I'd hear metal, rap and grunge by myself and my family was usually listening to folk music, salsa, cumbia or merengue. I've got some playlists I could share or that we could try to play if you have instruments.

Some of the best concerts I've been
Iron Maiden
Papa Roach
Rammstein
La Vida Boheme
Mumford's and Son's
Eddie Vedder
Twenty One Pilota
Opeth
Mastodon
Baroness
Calle 13
Foo Fighters
Kings of Leon
Trivium

Concerts i want to go to?
Juan Luis Guerra
Nothing But Thieves
Oscar de Leon
Black Pumas
Rage Against The Machine
System of a Down
Pearl Jam

-Movies: Some genres that I usually watch just to chill are horror, comedy, and comic books movies. But some of my favs are:

Into the Wild

Birdman
What we do in the shadows
Lotr
Brigsly Bear

-TV Shows: Used to see lots of it in highschool and through university i usually saw episodes while eating, so I've seen a lot. My favourites would have to be:

Mad Men
Dexter
Supernatural
How I Met Your Mother
Penny Dreadful
Breaking Bad
Next Girl
The Boys

-Books: My go-to genres are mostly adventure, fantasy, history, design and cultural themes. But I have also read on many other topics ranging from exercise, politics, traveling, survival tips and many others. My last reads are:

The Alchemist
The Unbearable Lightness of Being
Warcraft Chronicles III
The Subtle Art of Not Giving A Fuck
Eliminando fronteras

-Comics: used to read a lot of them in highschool and in university, always was fascinated by the way they visually narrate stories, some of my favs are:

Moon Knight
Maus
Preacher
The Boys
Miracle Man

-Videogames: used to play a lot in school and stopped at university, many of them where Xbox related games or multi platform, but here's a few we could have fun discussing:

Halo
Rockband
Guitar Hero
Civilization
Dota
Lol
Wow
Heartstone

If I'm surfing at your place I'd be down to play some of these or board games!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

-Battled wars with mosquitoes in the Great Sabana of Venezuela as a kid and survived.

-Went to Bogota crossing the dangerous border with two friends to see a Foo Fighters show in Colombia.

-Did a 007 esque mission to see my favorite band Iron Maiden in Las Vegas.

-Impressed a chef with my oat pancakes recipe.

-Slept on a haunted 100 years old mansion in my natal city, then did a thesis designing how to reintegrate it as a Film College.

-Went to United States with less than a thousand dollars and managed to backpack through the six months that allowed my VISA.

-Stayed in a church with a fellow surfer to attend a festival in California, assisted the service on Sunday morning where a family that was also attending the festival hosted and partied with us the last day.

-Hitchhiked for the first time 630km in a day, to visit a girl that I liked in a different city.

-Saw most of my favorite bands in person and even met some of them.

-Carried a couch through half of the city center of Madrid to my previous flat to host couchsurfers.

-Cooked a national dish from my country for 50 people dinner in Switzerland.

-Lived for 6 months in Nørrebro the year it won a prize for the coolest neighborhood in the world.

-Held one of my favorite animals in my hand while visiting Oman.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can explain a great deal about the culture and the current state of Venezuela, or other places where I have been around. On top of preparing recipes from these places!

Will help with ideas and designs for your house, tattoos, posters and other things with my knowledge in architecture and graphic design.

Could teach the basics of dancing salsa, merengue, bachata, vallenato and other music genres.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Can teach the best Spanish slang from Latin America or Spain and how they change from one country to the next.

Dancing lessons for Salsa, Bachata, Merengue, Reggaeton or Vallenato.

Can make vegetarian recipes or traditional food from Venezuela.

I'm a graduated architect so I can help with Interior designs, renovations, landscapes, inspections and many other design projects like a tattoo or logo idea.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Mexico, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Norway, Oman, Panama, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Arab Emirates, United States, Venezuela

Countries I’ve Lived In

Denmark, France, Germany, Netherlands, Poland, Spain, United States, Venezuela

Join Couchsurfing to see Alberto’s full profile.

My Groups