Albus Dem's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Albus’s full profile.


  • 1 reference 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, German; learning Polish, Swiss German
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • RH, agriculture
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Being able to speak polish properly and visit Poland and countries around.

Update: half done, I'm able to understand a bit of polish and to speak. And I visited Ukraine. Still have Slovaquia, Belarus but also Moldavia, Georgia and the Balkans... So much to discover, can't wait.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I am not trying to make the longest list of visited countries I prefer staying at a place for a moment and having the time to be able to understand a bit the place, the people, the traditions. Because for me visiting few churches, the main museums and having a beer on the main square is not really my way of traveling. I like to meet locals and emerge myself in the culture. Travelling is for me with the mind, about having emotions and insights, not only with the eyes through a camera lens.


The humain kind

History: I study contemporary history, it helps me understanding the humain kind ;)

Bicycles: all kind, I just don't like cars. at all.

Movies and series

Books, more real stories than novel I have to say.

Art and creative places, I love and hate museums at the same time.

I also have a weird habit of collecting religious objects.

  • arts
  • books
  • chocolate
  • cheese
  • movies
  • socializing
  • religion
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Mostly, I prefer reading books like testimonies, life or travel diaries, real stories, historic stuff than novels. And if it's written by a women and it's about travel or ethnography, I'm like "wooowoo" -> Ella Maillart, Benoîte Groult, Germaine Tillion and Anne Nivat are my favourites so far.

I also try to read all the books that imagines the futur like 1984 (Orwell) or Brave New World (Aldous Huxley) and watch series about it as well like the incredible "Black Mirror". I just felt in love with A Tale of Love and Darkness from Amos Oz (I'm very afraid of the soon-to-be-screened movie...), oh yeah because jewish culture is also one of my favourite field.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I worked on a 2000m high mountain in an "alpage". There we took care of cows, milked them and made cheese out of it. I felt more useful there in 5 weeks than during my 4 years of University.

Teach, Learn, Share

Meeting people from country that I've never been to is always a particular pleasure. Usually after some minutes of talking I feel this urge of going there and discovering it.
I really really enjoy getting to know more about a country (even if I've been there already) by the locals.
I'm very interested in the topic of religion so I always enjoy talking about rituals and beliefs. As I generally enjoy more having deep conversations than the usual superficial shizzle, this is always a good start ;)

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can tell you about what I've learned about Poland... and I'm studying it very passionatly!
I can tell you about my weird homecountry which is Switzerland and all the weird laws that we have and what is really going on there (I experienced that it seems kind of mysterious for a lot of people).
I can tell you about how to take care of cows and pigs, how calves are born and how is it to make cheese in the mountains (I can be a total swiss girl stereotype...) and how to handle people from the mountains. hahahaha! Great debate that we had, lots that I've learned.
And I do my own deodorant, and try to make other homemade stuff for my body.

And if I have swiss chocolate, i will definitely share it with you! And I will not have this desperate debate about which one is the best in the world.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Mali, Monaco, Poland, Spain, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Uzbekistan

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Poland, Switzerland

Join Couchsurfing to see Albus’s full profile.