Alexander Uljev's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alexander’s full profile.


  • 27 references 16 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Indonesian, Russian
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2017
  • Living a life
  • Engineer
  • From Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg, Russian Federation
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


My name is Alex, I am Russian, 30 years old. I am here because I travel. Currently I'm back home, in Saint-Petersburg, making my last strive to move to Moscow and eventually explore my homeland. I am a self-learner, studying programming by myself for the last 3 years. Also traveling and hiking. My last trip was to Iran where I hiked couple of peaks with the highest as mount Sabalan with 48** m elevation. My next trip will be South America as soon as I can fund it.

I dream about seeing Andes, jogging at Altiplano, climbing all the way through glaciers of Patagonia. I want to challenge Canadian Rockies, to face mount Logan, to see ocean from Denali. I dream to see the North, it's polar nights, auroras and wet stony lands covered with moss. I want to leave my prints on a huge white body of Antarctica.

While I'm in Russia, I will be happy to show you around. If you like to learn history, culture and maybe language - I'm your guy. Also I can take you to non touristic places if you have extra time

Telegram/Instagram: alexander_uljev

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I am making friends with local people through Couchsurfing, living a local life, learning about culture and history. While I am in Russia, I can guide you around Saint-Petersburg or just give you hints about nice places. With CS I don`t need to travel, the world comes to me by itself :) So many guests in my city from all over the world. I learn so much from different cultures and views.


Making friends

  • walking
  • traveling
  • coding
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • mountaineering
  • software
  • mountains
  • nature
  • friends
  • learning languages
  • sea
  • weather
  • conversation
  • talking
  • listening
  • making friends

Music, Movies, and Books

I like movies about soul resurrection like "American Beauty" and "Equilibrium". However I don`t watch new movies a lot. The best book I ever read was Leonid Andreev`s "Juda Iscariot". That book really changed my thinking a lot. I mostly read tech books to develop my coding skills.
I also read bunch of books about expeditions too North and South pole, Greenland and Siberian seas.
I don`t listen to music much, but I like good background music.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I followed my heart 1001 times
I walk the Earth
I live the dream
I made myself happy

Teach, Learn, Share

I can tell you about Russian culture and history, our way of life, our traditions and thinking, families and language. I can tell about Saint-Petersburg, white nights, the park of golden fountains, the hundred bridges, the Nevskiy prospekt, the ice cream church, Rasputin and simple Putin. Also a bit about Moscow.
I like to have a good conversation. I am good at listening, at the same time I can share my stories easily. I can share some cheap-traveling experience. Also if you are interested in coding, learning languages, cooking cheap and tasty, exercising your body, getting on a diet, starting doing yoga - I can give you few hints.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can help around the house or at the outside. I really enjoy simple hard-work. I like cooking. I worked at a factory maintenance department, so I got some mechanical, electrical and plundering skills. I can do the dishes :)
And of course my adventure stories, stories about Russia.

Countries I’ve Visited

Armenia, Estonia, India, Indonesia, Iran, Japan, Malaysia, Thailand, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Estonia, Russian Federation, Viet Nam

Join Couchsurfing to see Alexander’s full profile.