allan dransfield's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see allan’s full profile.


  • 43 references 31 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Italian; learning Sign Language - Swedish
  • 43, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Car designer, Photojournalist, Explorer!
  • Mdes Car Design, Coventry University 2000-2004
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

After spending two years on the road then a year in Sweden and another in Berlin, I now live happily [[since 2017]] in an odd little city called Łódź - the former textile capital of Poland!

ABOUT ME (written 2013)


We haven't met yet so let me introduce myself..
My name is Allan. Hi, nice to meet you :)

I'm a 32 year old English Car Designer and have been living in the north of Italy for the last 9years.
I've just quit my job and am heading east on the transiberrian to eventually get a job in Japan but not before stopping off for the summer in Berlin =)
I'm here to concentrate on some photography/film stuff, meet people and above all develop my dancing style - Flashdance meets MC hammer shit ?!

I've been following my intuition upto this point which has brought me here to Berlin and I'm just out there doing what i love and letting go.

Now as I'm continuing my journey, I'd like to meet funky local people with whom to either share adventures, or simply invite me into their home for a day or two so that I can experience local living, rather than sailing through hostels full of other travellers (which is what I normall do so don't get me wrong, i dig that too, it's just as time is usually short, I'd like to inject myself directly into the local scene!)

...which is why the couch surfing community will play an important part in the next few months of my life!

With You could be passing time with me doing fantastic activities such as:

- Eating an apple walking down the street.
- Drinking a beer sat on a wall.
- Cruising the city on bikes making videos yeah.
- Smoking a joint sat on some grass.
- Grilling stuff also sat on some grass.
- Following the sound of beats.
- Shape shifting on floors all over the city.
- Visiting shit - exhibitions, openings, events.
- Acid? oh go on then.

Check it out my site if you want it's full of stuff from my last few trips and let me also mention my moustache - it's a homage to my GREAT GREAT GRANDFATHER (dead) of whom I saw a picture of for the first time a few months ago and he's pretty much the man.




Why I’m on Couchsurfing




I'm new to this game, although my previous houses have always been stop of points for friends and friends of friends passing through, so i guess I'm already well trained in the art of couch-surfing =D


Music (i was a dj once upon a time!)..
Photography (check out my site
Documentation of society - film & photo..
Dancing, can't stop moving oh yeah!
Meeting people - ALL KINDS of people!

and most things that get your blood pumping -

  • arts
  • design
  • photography
  • dancing
  • beer
  • meditation
  • walking
  • drinking
  • socializing
  • music
  • cycling
  • surfing
  • sailing
  • snowboarding
  • paragliding
  • peace

Music, Movies, and Books

Yes, Yes & Yes

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

quitting everything I have and pursuing a new life adventure.

doing a 10 day Vippassana meditation course in a Sri Lankan retreat.

Being kidnapped by the Ragistani mafia and escaping.

Putting the flames out on a bamboo house in the Himalayas and being rewarded a huge stick of ganja.

Accidentally becoming famous in Japan.

Taking trains from England to Japan, & hitchhiking all the way back =)

Teach, Learn, Share

My passion is to document and share my experiences with others who would never see these things with their own eyes. I want to enrich the lives of others through my own experiences, both good and bad.

In order to appreciate the highs - you must dip down to the lows!

I see life as a story, full of various chapters. Society will make you believe that each of these chapters should have a certain content and last a certain length of time before you begin the next 'step' of you life.
It's simply not true. You are in charge of your life, you make the decisions and should pursue whatever makes you happy.

By meeting people from different cultures, geographical locations and religions, we can appreciate how humans make decisions, solve problems, think, have fun and express themselves which ultimately will help me better understand and enjoy the world in which we live.

Sharing yourself and being accepting of others that you encounter all over the world is how i believe i can better understand the journey of life.

I am a designer, a car designer.
Whereas many professionals in this field are very focused on the car designer world, I believe the key is to understanding people.
My life experiences will make me a better designer, because after all we are designing for people ARE WE NOT?!

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Armenia, Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Benin, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cambodia, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Lithuania, Malaysia, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Samoa, San Marino, Scotland, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Italy, Poland, Sweden, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see allan’s full profile.

My Groups