Amberly Young's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Amberly’s full profile.


  • 54 references 38 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning French, Italian, Japanese, Spanish
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Writer, Photographer, Teacher
  • BA in Creative Writing from UC Santa Cruz
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am a creative, outgoing, and adventure-seeking person from California. After college, I traveled for 2 and a half years in New Zealand, Australia, and South East Asia. I had a great time volunteering on farms: now I can milk a goat and chop firewood!

I volunteered as an English teacher in Cambodia and Indonesia, and then I lived in Japan working as an English teacher through the JET program. Then I taught English in Spain for 3 years. I moved back to Santa Barbara and got a teaching credential during COVID so I can be an elementary school teacher. I took a year off fill-time teaching to travel and substitute teach, and did a big 3-month Europe trip and 1 month in Nepal. Last year I taught third grade in Pereira, Colombia. Now I’m traveling again! Woohoo!


Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Been couchsurfing around California, Australia, Southeast Asia, Japan, and Europe. Met amazing people

I hosted when I lived in Japan but at unable to host now


I have too many hobbies to remember them all.
Writing and photography: Check out my travel blog

Sports: my favorite sport is ultimate frisbee. I also enjoy soccer, basketball, volleyball, table tennis, yoga, Pilates, boot camp workouts, and just about anything that gets me moving!

Dance: I started learning salsa and bachata a few years ago and I love it. I was in the swing dance club in university too. I also enjoy contact improv and blues.

Music: I play piano, flute, guitar, and usually carry my ukulele with me. I love trying out new instruments and jamming with other people. Check my music YouTube channel

Art: I enjoy drawing and painting, I have a sketchbook with me and I paint my own postcards that I mail home. Check my art Instagram @ambertravelingcomics

I'll pretty much try anything!! Unless it's meat (I'm vegan but may be a little flexible while traveling.) I don’t usually drink alcohol except for special occasions.

  • arts
  • writing
  • yoga
  • pilates
  • traveling
  • painting
  • drawing
  • music
  • guitar
  • piano
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • camping
  • sports
  • basketball
  • soccer
  • tennis
  • volleyball
  • table tennis
  • teaching
  • journalism
  • volunteering
  • beaches
  • ultimate frisbee
  • spanish
  • learning spanish

Music, Movies, and Books

On the Come Up by Angie Thomas
The Passing Playbook by Isaac Fitzsimons
The Thorn Birds by Colleen McCullough
1984, George Orwell
All of the Harry Potters! (Just re-read them in Spanish)
Love Hunger Games, Catching Fire, and Mockingjay
Girl With Dragon Tattoo
A Thousand Splendid Suns
Anything by Murakami or Isabelle Allende
The Blue Zones

Is it bad to plug my YouTube channel? I write songs for kids and adults:
I like lofi music, classical, oldies, jazz, mellow covers…

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I did the AV1, an eight day hike in the Italian dolomites, with my dad! We slept in albergues (mountain huts) and spent the days on the trails admiring the mountains.

Gazed at the second largest waterfalls in the world, Iguazu Falls in Argentina. The beautiful rushing sound, hiking to the top and then to the bottom and seeing them from every angle.

Playing my flute at low tide in a sea cave at Whariki Beach near the Farewell Spit.

Finishing a 10-day tramp on Stewart Island, New Zealand - 10 days of going back to nature, carrying everything we need on our backs, and fishing in the ocean.

Going on a solo motorbiking trip around Taiwan, despite the harsh reality that I can't speak Chinese and barely anyone there spoke English. Learned a lot.

Climbing mountains in Japan (Hakusan, Tatayama... gotta go back for Fuji!)
Climbing redwood trees in Santa Cruz California
Climbing via ferratas in the Swiss Alps

Teaching 20 third graders math, reading, writing social studies, and science at an international school in Colombia for a year!

Teach, Learn, Share

Special things I can share: how to throw a frisbee, forehand, backhand, or hammer. I was on the ultimate frisbee team in university. I can also show you a few chords on the guitar/ukulele if you have one, or I can give a brief piano lesson if we have access to a piano. I've taken a lot of art classes and can show you a few basic drawing techniques if you want!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Music, Sports, Art, Conversation, Joy!

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, England, France, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Colombia, Japan, New Zealand, Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Amberly’s full profile.

My Groups