Rudy Gutierrez's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 6 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rudy’s full profile.

Overview

  • 112 references 58 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish
  • 100, Male
  • Member since 2017
  • Coordinator in a higher education institution
  • College degree in computer information systems with a spe...
  • From Laredo, TX, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Note: I'm American, but my family roots are from Mexico. I'm currently a nomad. Where I travel is where I live. USA is my home, but I'm not living there for the moment. I haven't been home in more than 4 years. I'm from Texas, USA 🇺🇲 and Tamaulipas, Mexico 🇲🇽

I like to inspire people and be inspired by others. Traveling is my current passion! I enjoy learning about other cultures, road trips, trying new activities, learning new things, exploring places, meeting people, and make lifelong friends along the way 😀 I also have a passion for dancing. I've done hundreds of dance videos 🕺 I'm native in English and Spanish. I've lived in the United States and Mexico for a big part of my life, but also lived in Georgia (the country, not the state) for almost 2 years, in Albania for half a year, in Vietnam for half a year, in Ukraine for more than 4 months, and now on a nomadic adventure around the world since 2019.

"Which is more important," asked one traveler, "the journey or the destination?"
"The company," said the other traveler.

Instagram @rudy.dance
(My account is private, though 🙃)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I have been solo traveling to countries far from where I live since 2009, and have stayed in airbnbs, hostels, and occasionally with friends. A friend of mine informed me about Couchsurfing years ago, but have never given it a try until now, April 2017. I'm thinking Couchsurfing will give me a better opportunity to meet travelers that visit my city, meet locals and other travelers when I'm traveling, and connect with like-minded people at Couchsurfing events and hangouts. When I travel, I enjoy meeting locals, getting to know them, and immersing myself in the local culture. I also like meeting up with other travelers to explore the city/town together.

Interests

Some of my interests are listed below, or above if you're on Android 🙃

  • culture
  • technology
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • karaoke
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • astronomy
  • philosophy
  • language exchange
  • road trips
  • group travel
  • sightseeing
  • beaches
  • parks
  • stargazing
  • inspiring people
  • dance
  • exploring
  • comedy
  • deep conversations
  • traditions
  • cultural exchange
  • sunsets
  • computers
  • spontaneity
  • sunrise
  • irony
  • quotes
  • birdwatching
  • trying new things
  • teaching spanish
  • digital nomad
  • teaching english
  • musical instruments
  • trying new foods
  • online business
  • intellectual conversations
  • reflection
  • small business
  • joking around
  • cultural events
  • electronic dance music
  • being inspired
  • deep thinking
  • freestyle dancing

Music, Movies, and Books

I like a wide range of music including cultural, ballads, 80s, electronic dance music (EDM), house, Mexican banda, some rock, among other categories, and music that gives you the freedom to freestyle and dance however you like. I also like singing karaoke in Spanish.

What's my favorite movie? It's hard to choose a favorite, but some of the ones that come to mind are "Good Will Hunting", "The Prestige", "Interstellar", "Into the Wild", "The Butterfly Effect", and many others.

My favorite book is "The Alchemist" by Paulo Coelho. I like reading and analyzing quotes, and have a big collection of them (300+) in topics such as self improvement, life, love, happiness, friends, family, wanderlust, time, positive thinking, among other topics. I also do quite a bit of online reading on topics such as science, astronomy, biographies, among other topics.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I would say what I did in January 2018, which is saved up money for 11 years and quit my good job in order to try to live a life of long-term travel and follow my dream exploring the world learning about other cultures, lifestyles, and peoples' mentalities and perspectives on life, and to try to do something to change the 9 to 5 lifestyle I was living. I have many years of travel experience, but this time, I want to experience what it's like to be a real world nomad, and go from country to country constantly learning new things, meeting all kinds of people, and make lifelong friends along the way.

Also, joining Couchsurfing on April 21, 2017, because this will lead me to meeting you 😛

Teach, Learn, Share

What I can teach:
*English language (native English speaker)
*Spanish language (native Spanish speaker)
(I use both languages on most days)
*Travel hacks and money saving tips (look at the "countries I've visited" section below)
*Dance moves 🕺
*Computer skills (I have been working in the information technology field for over 10 years)
*Customer service skills (I have been in customer service related jobs for over 15 years)
*Management skills (over 10 years of management experience)
*Poker skills 🃏

What I would like to learn:
*Best things to do in the city/town
*Local favorites (your favorite places)
*Local culture
*Improve my cooking skills
*Other languages
*It would be great to learn how to play the guitar
*Things you have knowledge on that you would like to share
*New things in general

The sharing part is described in the "what I can offer hosts" section below.

What I Can Share with Hosts

*All the things listed in the "what I can teach" section above
*Any technology or computer-related help
*Deep, intellectual conversations ❤️
*Information about the culture in the United States and Mexico. I have lived in the US and Mexico, and have traveled extensively in both countries
*Inspiring quotes and words of wisdom 😝
*Help and advice in general

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, England, Estonia, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kosovo, Laos, Latvia, Lithuania, Macao, Macedonia, Malaysia, Mexico, Moldova, Montenegro, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Scotland, Serbia, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Albania, Georgia, Mexico, Ukraine, United States, Viet Nam

Join Couchsurfing to see Rudy’s full profile.

My Groups