Marcus Eder's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 70% response rate
  • Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Marcus’s full profile.

Overview

  • 383 references 214 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German
  • 46, Male
  • Member since 2004
  • Electronics engineer
  • graduated electronics engineer
  • From Salzburg, Salzburg, Austria
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

ENGLISH: (Deutsch unten)

In a nutshell: Versatile individual with a passion for travel, new people, and culture; experience in product development of prosthetic hands and legs, employee representative; interested in good food, cooking, board games, sex-positive activities, molecular biology, technology, and digital tools; couchsurfer, backpacker, cyclist; organizes sex-positive techno parties; goes to festivals and gay cruises.

---

I am a very versatile and active person with a passion for travel and meeting new people. I have visited many countries and places, including Venezuela with Roraima and Canaima, Bangladesh with St. Martin's Island, the USA with Hawaii, Peru with Machu Picchu and Brazil with Iguazu Falls. As part of my post-graduation world trip, I also spent three months riding my motorcycle in New Zealand and traveling with a friend in an old Mercedes through Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Lesotho and Swaziland. I am also an active member of Couchsurfing and love meeting interesting people and making friends around the world. I am also very interested in good food and cooking and enjoy spending time with friends playing board games. I am also interested in sex positive activities and help organize sex positive techno parties.

Professionally, I have been working in product development of prosthetic hands and legs for the last 18 years and I also have experience as the chairman of the works council and employee representative in the supervisory board of the group. In my spare time, I enjoy attending festivals and gay cruises such as the La Demence Cruise and the Funny Moon Festival. I have also done backpacking and hitchhiking trips, including a trip from Sydney to Cairns (Australia) and 15,000 km by motorcycle in 3 months (New Zealand), as well as several longer bicycle trips, including a trip from Salzburg to Gibraltar. I am very interested in molecular biology and would like to study in this field from 2024. I use digital tools and apps to learn and expand my knowledge and skills, and I am open to recommendations of other digital tools and apps that I can use. I am also very interested in technology, especially augmented reality and the opportunities and challenges that will arise in the future with the use of AI. If you're a Couchsurfer, backpacker, or cyclist looking for a place to stay for two nights or so, let me know. I love to travel, see the world and get to know people and their culture. Food is a good way to exchange culture and massages are a good way to relax ^^.

########################################################

DEUTSCH:

In Kürze: Vielseitiger Mensch mit einer Leidenschaft für Reisen, neue Menschen und Kultur; Erfahrung in der Produktentwicklung von Hand- und Beinprothesen, Arbeitnehmervertreter; interessiert an gutem Essen, Kochen, Brettspielen, sexpositiven Aktivitäten, Molekularbiologie, Technologie und digitalen Tools; Couchsurfer, Backpacker, Radfahrer; organisiert sexpositive Techno-Partys; geht auf Festivals und Gay-Kreuzfahrten.

--

Ich bin eine sehr vielseitige und aktive Person mit einer Leidenschaft für Reisen und neue Menschen. Ich habe schon viele Länder und Orte besucht, darunter Venezuela mit Roraima und Canaima, Bangladesch mit St. Martin's Island, die USA mit Hawaii, Peru mit Machu Picchu und Brasilien mit den Iguazu-Wasserfällen. Im Rahmen meiner Weltreise nach dem Studium war ich auch drei Monate mit dem Motorrad in Neuseeland unterwegs und reiste mit einem Freund in einem alten Mercedes durch Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Lesotho und Swaziland. Ich bin auch ein aktives Mitglied bei Couchsurfing und liebe es, interessante Leute zu treffen und Freundschaften auf der ganzen Welt zu schließen. Ich interessiere mich auch sehr für gutes Essen und Kochen und verbringe gerne Zeit mit Freunden bei Brettspielen. Ich interessiere mich auch für sexpositive Aktivitäten und helfe bei der Organisation von sexpositiven Techno-Partys.

Beruflich war ich in den letzten 18 Jahren in der Produktentwicklung von Hand- und Beinprothesen tätig und habe auch Erfahrung als Betriebsratsvorsitzender und Arbeitnehmervertreter im Aufsichtsrat des Konzerns. In meiner Freizeit besuche ich gerne Festivals und Gay Cruises wie die La Demence Cruise und das Funny Moon Festival. Außerdem habe ich Rucksack- und Autostopp-Reisen unternommen, darunter eine Reise von Sydney nach Cairns (Australien) und 15.000 km mit dem Motorrad in 3 Monaten (Neuseeland), sowie mehrere längere Fahrradtouren, darunter eine Reise von Salzburg nach Gibraltar. Ich interessiere mich sehr für Molekularbiologie und möchte ab 2024 in diesem Bereich studieren. Ich benutze digitale Tools und Apps, um zu lernen und mein Wissen und meine Fähigkeiten zu erweitern, und ich bin offen für Empfehlungen anderer digitaler Tools und Apps, die ich benutzen kann. Ich interessiere mich auch sehr für Technologie, insbesondere für Augmented Reality und die Möglichkeiten und Herausforderungen, die sich in Zukunft durch den Einsatz von KI ergeben werden. Wenn du ein Couchsurfer, Backpacker oder Radfahrer bist und eine Unterkunft für etwa zwei Nächte suchst, lass es mich wissen. Ich liebe es zu reisen, die Welt zu sehen und Menschen und ihre Kultur kennenzulernen. Essen ist ein guter Weg, um Kultur auszutauschen und Massagen sind ein guter Weg, um sich zu entspannen ^^.

######################################

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING
I did part of the community building of CS and inspired parts of the old website and was involved in CS as organization. However after more than five years of Ambassadorship (Global Amb from the time the system was introduced) I decided to step back from the organization when it was sold. Also initiated and Co-Moderated the European CS Collective in Eisenstadt where everyone was welcome to contribute.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE:
I started with Servas and Hospitality Club. www.servas.org is great! Most hosts are 40 or older but very young at heart people! They also have some rules (minimum and maximum two nights - except the host offers more) you have to go for an interview - for security but lots of hosts in OZ and NZ. You are part of the family for two nights...
Couchsurfed Germany, Sweden, USA, Costa Rica, Bangladesh... and had lots of guests from all over the world :-)

When I started travelling in NZ and OZ I used
www.globalfreeloaders.com the idea is free accommodation but also there people are interested in the traveller and liked to share ideas and views.

Fellow motorcyclists who I met on my travels in NZ e.g. www.kiwibiker.co.nz was very helpful. Very nice and hospitable people.

People who gave me a lift while hitch hiking also hosted me a few times - with some still in contact.

Hosted more than 200 people so far ^^

Interests

Travelling, meeting new people, discussions, cooking, electronics, motorcycle, space technology -- was part of my thesis...
Now preparing to go back to study again - wanna start with molecular biotechnology in Sept 2024 ^^

  • festivals
  • cooking
  • clubbing
  • electronics
  • technology
  • movies
  • traveling
  • music
  • live music
  • hiking
  • tours
  • gay
  • techno
  • queer
  • rainbow gatherings
  • goa
  • atlantis
  • cruise
  • ozora
  • molecular biology
  • boom
  • kitkat
  • bio technology
  • sexpositive
  • s.o.u.l.
  • la demence

Music, Movies, and Books

Black Mirror, Lost in Space, Locke and Key, Trick, LotR, Das Experiment, Wag the Dog, Bowling for Colombine, Fahrenheit 9/11, Kill Bill, Muttertag, Poppitz, Broken Hearts Club, Sound of Music

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The community feeling within CS and the enormous efforts that came out of the community to rebuild their network right after the complete crash of couchsurfing...

Driving to europride with the car from Vienna. The live music event at the gay parade in Vienna 2008 where heavy rain and lightning added a great spirit to the event. And the cruise from la demence is a lot of fun.

Rainbow gatherings and Ozora festival are things I like a lot. Hiking up mount Roraima in Venezuela was stunning. The Namib desert, Victoria Falls, Australia hitch hiking and New Zealand by motorcycle as well as bicycle tours and the two weeks work in China.

Teach, Learn, Share

Electronics: Prosthetics, Space Technology, Solar Systems
Cooking: Austrian dishes

What I Can Share with Hosts

see above :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Bangladesh, Belgium, Botswana, Brazil, Canada, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Hungary, Italy, Lesotho, Liechtenstein, Mauritius, Namibia, Netherlands, Norway, Panama, Peru, Singapore, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Venezuela, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Austria, China, New Zealand, South Africa

Old School Badges

  • 152 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge
  • Vienna Collective

Join Couchsurfing to see Marcus’s full profile.

My Groups