Bri Heyv's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 72% response rate
  • Last login about 19 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Bri’s full profile.

Overview

  • 31 references 24 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Spanish; learning Dutch
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Legal advisor
  • law
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Dear travellers,

My name is Bri, I'm Belgian, I live most of the time in Brussels with my bf (who's from Lier, near Antwerp)
If I'm in Brussels and the sofa-bed is available, I'll be glad to host you*. I can mostly host people when my bf isn't there because he's not super comfortable with it.
Even if I can't host, I'm also available for a drink of to show you around.
Also open to hang out with newcomers in Brussels or elsewhere in Belgium :)

A little bit about me : Like you I guess, I have a travel addiction and I love to discover new places and meet new people, that's why I'm on CouchSurfing.
I've lived -among others- in Senegal, Spain, Mexico and now I've been living for 11 years in Belgium. I've studied Law, EU politics and Human rights; then did a traineeships at the EP and at the CoE in Strasbourg. After a 1st job as legal officer at the Walloon Region, I'm currently working for the Justice department in Brussels

[*I dont want to discriminate anyone but I feel more comfortable hosting people around the my age, btw 18-38y.o. + I dont host for more than 2 days. NB: being a member of the LGBT-groups does of course not mean that I only host lgbt travellers, everybody is welcome!)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

CS = discovery, fun, trust, generosity and friendship.
I'm on CS because I want to help and get to know other travellers.
Sleeping at someone else's place is not only a cheap way to travel but also and overall THE best way to discover a country and its welcoming inhabitants.

Interests

Hard to summarize my interests/passions in a small box. Here are some of them:
- Travelling (like everyone here i guess)
- Architecture, especially art-nouveau and gothic
- dark humour
And many others: canyoning, cinema, photography...

  • architecture
  • movies
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • history
  • law

Music, Movies, and Books

Too hard to choose !

Music taste ranging from Cesaria Evora to Marilyn Manson and including Celtic music, Avicii, Simple Plan, Scorpions, Britney Spears and Victor Deme... So quite diverse ;)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

1° Register on CS ;-)

2° Living in Kuwait 3 years surviving temperature reaching 50°c !

3° Sleeping in a Tibetan monastery in Bodhgaya + Meeting a Sadhu in Varanassi.

4° Spend more than a whole day&night in a train in Uzbekistan (and sharing a dinner with local students ^^)

5° Last but not least: my coming out.
Weird achievement would you think? I used to live in a 100% straight-environment (no gay relatives, traditional family) so I experienced a massive anxiety, trying to "keep it secret" as long as possible (+ doing efforts to appear straight, pretending to be interested in cars, football and women...). Now I can finally hold my bf's hand in public and watch Eurovision without being ashamed ;-)

Teach, Learn, Share

Discover the Brussels that I know like the back of my hand

I'd like to try "home exchange". Interested to switch home for a couple of days, dont hesitate to contact me! My aptm is a perfect place of a city-trip in Brussels. As to me, here are some destinations which interest me : the Ardennes, Tournai, Luxembourg, Den Bosch, Rooterdam, Zeeland...I'm very respectful, clean and trustworthy :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

A nice evening talking/drinking/walking around (in Brussels)

Beside hosting and hangout with travellers, I really enjoy discovering my own country and the surroundings. If you're looking for a fellow traveller for a day or a WE, I'm your man :)
Looking for daytrip ideas in Belgium? check out my account unexpected_belgium on intagram !

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Jordan, Latvia, Lithuania, Netherlands, Oman, Romania, Spain, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, France, Kuwait, Mexico, Senegal, Spain, Switzerland

Join Couchsurfing to see Bri’s full profile.

My Groups