Bryn Pickering's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Bryn’s full profile.


  • 16 references 14 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Welsh; learning French, German, Spanish
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Researcher
  • Energy Engineering PhD
  • From North Wales
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


I'm Bryn, a British renewable energy and open-source software nerd. Until recently, I was a researcher in Zurich, Switzerland. Now, I'm on the road, visiting a bunch of ex-soviet countries with my partner.

I'm a big fan of hiking, cooking and trying new vegetarian/vegan dishes, ski touring, ceramics, and open water swimming.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I surfed about 40 couches all across the USA throughout 2010 and managed a bit of hosting while an undergraduate student. After a busy few years stuck in one place without space to host, I'm back to experience places around the world with those who know their hometowns the best.


Check out Helly ( for all the references for our US trip, I was sharing her profile at the time!
Not a single bad experience, through couchsurfing we managed to go rock climbing, fishing in a rickety boat before flaying and cooking the fish over an open fire whilst camping out on the beach (OK, I don't like fish, but it was still fun), cliff jumping, sea kayaking and so much more!


As you might be able to guess, I'm really interested in all things related to energy.

I've also taken up pottery since I had a studio nearby where I lived for a few years. I would class myself as an enthusiastic amateur in need of a few more formal classes to actually start producing anything worthwhile.

I'm into sports, but never enough to be any good at any one in particular - so if you want me to try one then I'd be keen!

  • dining
  • cooking
  • traveling
  • pottery
  • origami
  • cycling
  • kayaking
  • camping
  • skiing
  • trail running
  • sports
  • beaches
  • parks
  • ski touring

Music, Movies, and Books

I'm open to most music and my Spotify history is a real eclectic mix. I grew up with folk/indie music and have expanded from there.

I enjoy reading fantasy and science fiction mainly, though most fiction will get me reading. Every now and again I'll dip into popular science or travel books too.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: I can speak Welsh fluently, if a secret language interests you. I can also cook what I think are tasty vegetarian/vegan dishes, provided ingredients are available locally.

Learn: I am open to any and all suggestions, if it is something that can be learnt in a few days then I will most probably be interested.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Croatia, Denmark, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, United States, Uzbekistan, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Czech Republic, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • 2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Bryn’s full profile.

My Groups