Brian Shiau's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 40% response rate
  • Last login 26 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Brian’s full profile.


  • 6 references 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese, English; learning French, Spanish
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2023
  • Visual Artist
  • University of Illinois Champaign-Urbana
  • From Chicago, IL, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi I'm Brian! I am 24 years old from Chicago, IL, USA. I grew up in the suburbs of Chicago and went to uni in Champaign-Urbana, IL. I was raised in the church (Christian) but as I got older found peace in learning from all different kinds of religions. I played ice hockey and volleyball my whole life. Have been an athlete my whole life and live an active healthy lifestyle to this day. I got in touch with my creative side when I started uni. My major was tourism/hospitality with a minor in marketing. After graduating uni I taught english in Taiwan for almost 2 years, along side doing creative work (photo and video). Today I am back in Taiwan and about to travel to Indonesia and figured I'd give couch surfing a go! I am an adventurous visual storyteller who has the curiosity of a child and the passion of grandpa. I love nothing more than connecting with other humans, seeing the beautiful earth we call home and telling the stories through photo and film. Please feel free to check out my INSTAGRAM @bryzr

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

MEET NEW PEOPLE from around the world and share of cultures, experiences and thoughts with each other. I was preparing for my trip to Indonesia and had read about Couchsurfing and as the spontaneous person I am, decided to give it a try. I am a big believer radiating positive energy to the world as we all know the world needs more of it...Whilst this time I am looking for hosts in Indonesia, when I am back home to the US I definitely would love to share my home with others visiting my state.


  • animals
  • culture
  • singing
  • graphic design
  • photography
  • music festivals
  • dancing
  • philanthropy
  • cooking
  • fitness
  • working out
  • nightlife
  • partying
  • clubbing
  • music
  • hiking
  • camping
  • scuba diving
  • snowboarding
  • sports
  • volleyball
  • teaching
  • freelancing
  • language exchange
  • road trips
  • beaches
  • mountains
  • travel
  • art
  • youtube
  • mountain biking
  • nature
  • adventure
  • reading books
  • videography
  • freediving
  • national parks
  • health
  • conversation
  • exploring
  • museums
  • talking
  • meeting new people
  • skating
  • making friends
  • workout
  • ice hockey
  • weightlifting
  • culture exchange
  • creative
  • making videos
  • island hopping
  • gratitude
  • ocean conservation
  • twitch
  • non-profits
  • nighlife
  • adobe
  • making people smile
  • sufring

Music, Movies, and Books

I love music. ALL MUSIC. I feel like i have music in my ears 24/7 365... from r&b to country to pop to chinese to french to reggaeton... I love it all.

As a filmmaker myself, I love documentaries... I love movies that show and tell real stories of real people and real places. Of course I indulge in all the fun blockbuster movies that come out too! From Marvel to Disney, I just love how movies transcend space and time and take you to a special place.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I'd like to believe I've done many amazing things... but one notable thing regards my internship in Yellowstone National Park. The summer following my 4th year of uni I needed to do a real world internship, so I choose to do it in one of the most beautiful places in the world. Yellowstone National Park. I was assigned a hospitality role, Guest Service Agent, as the called it. My job was to serve guests of the Canyon Lodge Hotel and give them as pleasant of an experience as possible. Shortly after I was offered a position to transfer to the horse corrals where I became an cowboy. As an asian american kid from Chicago this was the opportunity of a lifetime. An opportunity that changed my life in many ways. An experience that is so far from what you'd expect someone like me to get. An experience that I will cherish forever. That summer was one of the greatest summers of my life. Living and working in the park amongst some of earths coolest animals was something out of a dream for me.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm a student of life...for life. There is no greater gift we humans share, the ability to learn and share knowledge. I pray I continue to learn until the day I die. When it comes to teaching I love to teach english, ice hockey, sports, fitness, and tech related things. Specifically, if you are interested in photography, videography, editing, content creation or anything in the digital space... I got you! And like I said, I'll learn anything and everything you're willing to share.

And when it comes to sharing, I am an open book. I love sharing my experiences, perspectives and insights of the world. And of course I can share all the photos and videos I've created since I began this art form in uni.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I would love to share my experiences, thoughts and ideas about anything that might come up. Something more tangible I like to share are my videos, photos, and art that I have created through my travels and experiences. Lastly, I like to share my expertise which is in photo/video art, content creation, health/fitness and ice hockey(rollerblading too).

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, China, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Indonesia, Japan, Mexico, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, United States, United States Minor Outlying Islands

Countries I’ve Lived In

Taiwan, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Brian’s full profile.