Charles McCreary's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Charles’s full profile.

Overview

  • 102 references 64 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 41, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Public Interest
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Unfortunately, I can’t always offer to host, but I would definitely be happy to meet up with anyone who wants to go for a hike or adventure here on the big island if I am free. Or perhaps I can invite you over for a sunset drink and try to answer any questions you may have about Hawaii.

I work as an attorney in Kona, Hawaii. I am originally from Ohio, but I have spent the past 10-15 years living much closer to the ocean. I love to travel, and I have always found that my travel experiences depend just as heavily on my hosts and the quality of the people I meet as they do on anything else. I'd like to be able to share a little bit of my Kona experience with others, because this is perhaps the best place I've ever lived.

I also hope to do more traveling one of these days, and I think this would be the way I would want to try to experience different places I have never been, by getting a feeling for what the place is like for someone who lives there.

I live a few miles south of the middle of Kona in a little condo. I now have a spare room, so depending on the day, I may even be able to host sometimes.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I sometimes feel I am a little bit spoiled living in Hawai`i, and I don't always get out to experience everything this island has to offer nearly as often as I'd like to. Visitors here always seem to come with a really fresh excitement for how beautiful this place really is. I think it's good for me to be around that kind of spirit as a reminder of why I'm here in the first place.

The reason I actually got onto this site in the first place was a funny story. One of my good friends here in Kona moved to Portland, Oregon a couple years ago. Having never visited Portland before, I decided to go ahead and stop there for a few days on my way to a family visit in Ohio, so I bought a plane ticket.

About two weeks before I was set to leave I got a telephone call from the friend I was going to visit, and he said "Hey, guess what... I'm back in Kona! I just moved back!"

My response was, "Cool! .... um .... do I still have a place to stay in Oregon in 2 weeks?"

The only real answer I got to that was, "yyyeah, well.... that didn't really work out."

Anyway, long story short, I decided to check out that couchsurfing website thing my other friend had just mentioned to me a few weeks earlier. I actually did NOT end up finding a place to stay in Portland, which I attribute mostly to my week-old profile, a complete lack of any references, the fact I am a dude, and I didn't really have a lot of details about myself or photos. So I stayed in a hotel. :)

When I got back to Kona though, I had forgotten about the couchsurfing profile until I started to get a bunch of requests for hosting here. I guess I just decided "why not," and I started agreeing to host people here, and I am definitely so glad I did.

Starting from the first person I hosted right through to the last, everyone I've met reminds me how this is such an awesome community with so many great people. And the thing that blows me away is the consistency and percentage of just really cool and fun people that are on here. It is better in that respect than just about any other group I can think of.

Interests

Hiking, tennis, snorkling, music, food, sports (these are becoming more generic, so maybe just "good times, indoors and out," not necessarily in that order).

I am a big fan of just floating around on the ocean in a big inflatable tube with a beer and some music if possible. I honestly try to spend as much time as I can doing that.

Music, Movies, and Books

Too hard to narrow that list

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Canada, Colombia, England, France, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Charles’s full profile.