Christian Achter's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Christian’s full profile.


  • 111 references 100 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French, Korean, Swiss German, Turkish
  • 51, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Software Developer
  • Computer Scientist
  • From Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


I travelled some countries and was always very happy to experience how people from different cultures have totally different opinions and views on the world. I would love to continue growing my knowledge about diversity!


My apartment is close to the train station "Bern Weissenbühl" - feel free to find out if that suits you:

Sometimes you might see pictures of nature around Bern on my Instagram:

If you are Turkish and stay longer than 3 days at my place, you will become part of my family. You know this tradition of hospitality, değil mi ;-)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I experienced a lot of hospitality when I travelled Turkey for some months in 2015. Those people are awesome! I want to give this back to other travellers. Though in Europe, you cannot simply go to tourists in the streets and tell them: "Hey, come with me, you can stay at my place" - they would call the police. So I use this platform.

Beyond that, travelling makes people become more open-minded and thus may help to make this world a bit more peaceful. That is why I want to support travellers.


  • traveling
  • people
  • comedy

Music, Movies, and Books

"Adaption" - a nice movie with Nicolas Cage.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Travelled about 800 km by bicycle together with my son through parts of Poland, Russia and Lithuania.

Nearly became a Muslim in a mosque in Kyrgyzstan (also with my son).

Took 4 weeks of Korean language lessons at Kim Chol Ju University in Pyongyang, DPRK (North Korea), and received this certificate:

Slept in Turkey in an abandoned school house and later in a cafe on the floor:

Explained to Turkish students in Dokuz Eylül University in Izmir how vowels in Arabic language work.

Solved some grammar lessons in front of an English class in Pyongyang, North Korea:

Finished a bicycle race that went 540 km through Norway from Trondheim to Oslo - nonstop. First time I discovered you can suffer from microsleep even on a bicycle. #27hoursonabike

Worked as a bicycle messenger in Berlin during 8 years.

Teach, Learn, Share

I will be able to tell you some stuff about Bern, its history and also about Switzerland in general.

What I Can Share with Hosts

My apartment (of course)

My knowledge about Berne

My stories about other countries and cultures

My wifi

Maybe my mobile wifi

My humour

My "Aare swimbag" if you want to swim in our super beautiful local river, the "Aare"

My superpower to find out your superpower

Maybe some of my friends over here

Please, if you plan to come with the maximum of 3 persons, have a look at this picture first. It shows what your combined sleeping place would look like:

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Azerbaijan, Canada, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, France, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Kyrgyzstan, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Mexico, Montenegro, Mozambique, North Korea, Norway, Poland, Qatar, Russian Federation, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Switzerland

Join Couchsurfing to see Christian’s full profile.

My Groups