Chris O'Brien's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 64% response rate
  • Last login about 9 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Chris’s full profile.


  • 59 references 50 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Italian
  • 37, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Butcher, Cook, Restaurant Manager
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

My main interests lie in sustainable agriculture and food production. I love food tradition, old recipes and people who have them. I'd gladly spend a night in cooking and talking for hours over a nice meal and wine. On the other hand I could stay out all night long and be equally as content, I like to have a good time and I love a good story.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

More than anything I participate in the CS community to meet and share with people. I started hosting guests when I was 20. I was a broke college kid living in a terrible neighborhood and had never left my country. CSing introduced me to so many people from all over the world and inspired me so much to go see it for myself. Since then I have hosted over 50 people and have prioritized traveling as a huge part of my life. I love to offer my time and local knowledge for those visiting and I love those who do the same for others.


Agriculture, basketball, bikes and bike touring, cooking, culture, food/bev, food science, music, sustainable food systems, traveling.

  • culture
  • dancing
  • dining
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • agriculture
  • science
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

I don't watch too much TV or movies, i love most music and most of the reading I do is informational. I basically have Marcella Hazan's "The Essentials of Italian Cooking" memorized

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Italian Wine.

Teach, Learn, Share

My ears are always open and I am always willing to share what I know.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'm very low maintenance and can get along with anybody. I like to listen and am always happy to cook.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Bolivia, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, El Salvador, England, Greece, Honduras, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Mexico, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Paraguay, Peru, Rwanda, Uganda, United Kingdom, Uruguay, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Italy, Kenya, United States

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Chris’s full profile.