Craig Cocking's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • 95% response rate
  • Last login about 5 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Craig’s full profile.

Overview

  • 411 references 352 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Korean, Māori
  • 56, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • High School Teacher
  • Lots
  • From Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Having lived in South Korea & hosted over 600 surfers over the last 13 years, I have now returned to live in Rotorua, NZ (early 2020).

Still trying to get my house sorted but am ready to host again (I think). Still sussing out bus routes etc but I'm about 10 mins by car out of the city. I will do my best to pick u up but u may need to catch a bus depending on how busy I am.

Looking forward to re-discovering Rotorua - along with my CSers. There may be times when I'm not able to host due to friends or my wife staying but ask anyway...

CURRENT MISSION

To live and be happy... To share my life and to listen to others stories... To help people less fortunate & animals...

ABOUT ME

Love life. Active. Enjoy people. Love traveling. Into all kinds of music, movies, books, interesting activities...
Happy to spend some time helping u out but not likely I can show u around these days...
I tend to crash earlyish & rise earlyish too... Busy as with new job...

PHILOSOPHY

I live to live- not to work (but work hard too). Great company is one of the finest things in life... Everything in Moderation, especially Moderation!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I live alone during the week. My beautiful wife stays during the weekend. I figure I've been helped many times while travelling so I'm trying to 'pay it forward' somehow...

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Have hosted well over 600 surfers, mostly during my 7 years living in Gyeongju. I get busy so if u stay u will need to be quite independent sometimes but I do try and have time at least one night with everyone who stays...

Interests

Anything and Everything. Will try most things at least twice - as long as the first time didn't hurt too much...

  • books
  • dining
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies- Shrek is the greatest ever and Donkey rocks.
Moulin Rouge is a close second...
Music- Anything from NZ. Jack Johnson is da man. Coldplay are the group... Easy songs I can play on my gat r good...
Books- will read anything to the end cos sometimes that's the best part...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Soooooo many... Including people I've met, places I've been, things I've done and food I've eaten... Just ask me...

Teach, Learn, Share

Keen to share my experiences and always keen to learn from others...

What I Can Share with Hosts

To get the best picture, read my references for what I offer as a person and host... (except from the one surfer who was just plain miserable to host!)

I can host up to 4 people at one time... Hosting does not include food (yes some people have expected that). Free wifi.

Please respect that it is a little expensive to host so wasting my power (leaving lights on etc) complaining that its cold when u leave the door open and the heating is on, does annoy me...

Please save our Earth and RECYCLE. Just ask me but I would appreciate it if u get it right...

Please flush the toilet after u (and give it a quick clean if something has clung around.) I'm amazed how many people don't!

DO NOT ask to use my computer for any reason (but I will help u out with something on it if I can...)

Come and be friendly, considerate and smile is all I ask!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Cambodia, China, Guam, India, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Mongolia, North Korea, Philippines, Russian Federation, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

New Zealand, South Korea

Old School Badges

  • 5 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Craig’s full profile.

My Groups