Drew Bateman's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Drew’s full profile.

Overview

  • 32 references 16 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese, Japanese, Spanish
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Teacher
  • College
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I've been living in Taiwan for five years now! I work as an English teacher, though I also sell pasta on the side. I originally went to college for film, and worked in that industry for a year before deciding to take a leap and see the world.

I started couchsurfing in North America during my college years, and those experiences shaped who I am today and ultimately led me to where I am now. So far I have travelled through east Asia, India, southern Europe and of course America. I really hope to be able to expand that list soon.

I enjoy listening to new music, watching films, trying new food (I'm more adventurous than most with this) and doing active things. I'm very interested in movies and music from different cultures (especially South Korean films). I'd love to discover some new things from the people I meet.

I've been very busy lately, but still hope to make time once again for couchsurfing!

PS if you'd like to bring a gift I am always trying to expand my record collection to have records from all over the world! I am also interested in trading records with others -

PS if you are a "naked couchsurfer" please notify me beforehand. I'm not into that...

PS if you actually read this profile and are not mass-sending requests, please start your message with tacocat

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I started using couchsurfing a couple years ago and I think it's one of the greatest things ever. I've met so many kind, friendly and interesting people and have made friends for life. I think this is a great way to really get to know the cities I travel to and meet authentic and genuine people.

Interests

Writing, Film, Journalism, Martial Arts, Capoeira, Food, Philosophy, Hiking, Biking, Meeting new people

  • arts
  • writing
  • capoeira
  • dining
  • cooking
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • martial arts
  • journalism

Music, Movies, and Books

Music - I love all kinds of music, my iTunes has about 9,000 songs. I like alternative, hip hop, jazz, oldies, whatever

Movies - Charlie Kaufman movies will always be my favorite, but I'm always trying to expand my cinema knowledge. I definitely want to get into more Chinese and South Korean films.

Books - The adventures of Kavalier and Clay, In search of Lost Time, Kafka, Vonnegut, Etc.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Forgot my wallet and snuck on a super-crowded train from the Taj Mahal to Delhi.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you some Capoeira!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Stories, gifts, different things from the places I've been to! Good conversation and company!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Canada, Costa Rica, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Mexico, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Japan, Spain, Taiwan, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Drew’s full profile.

My Groups