Joshua Doc Hurwitz's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 10 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Joshua Doc’s full profile.

Overview

  • 23 references 19 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese, French, German, Italian, Spanish
  • 37, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Philosopher/economist/sociologist/org theoriet
  • Western (BA, Phil), Waterloo (MA, Econ), Columbia (MA, So...
  • From London, Ontario, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Turn mercury into gold.

ABOUT ME

Moving to Liverpool in June 2024! Among the exotic locales I have lived in my life are London, Ontario; Toronto; Montreal; Palo Alto, California; Berlin; Paris; New York/Brooklyn; Washington, DC; Oakland/Berkeley; Boston; Charleston, South Carolina.

PHILOSOPHY

If you're asking about the cost of owning a yacht, you probably shouldn't have an account on Couchsurfing.com.

ABOUT MY PLACE
I currently live in Berkeley but will soon move to Liverpool. until June '24 I live in an apartment with a separate bedroom and living room. I have a couch and an inflatable mattress.

No word on my living setup in Liverpool yet, though I don't expect to be able to host until *at least* October 2024. That said, I am very up for meeting both locals and travelers

ABOUT SURFING AT MY PLACE [on hold until October 2024]
-Please be mature, clean,, independent, responsible, communicative.

-I can accommodate at most two guests (i.e. travelling together) at a time.
-Please have at least 2-3 detailed references. I need to know that you know what CS is about and that you are mature, responsible, clean. You can get references by attending events or hosting or even having friends vouch for you.
-No last minute requests please! The ideal timeframe is a stay of 2-3 days about two weeks before you're travelling.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I host mature, responsible, and unobtrusive people.

Sometimes, when I need it, I surf. I try to be mature, responsible, and unobtrusive.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

When I moved to DC, I had a great run of hosts. Thank you! Now trying to pay it back in San Fran!

Interests

literary magazines, wine, whisky, electronic music, photography, sailing, mathematics, the beach, architecture, ballet, jazz, the news, zoos, dinner parties, tennis, skiing, theatre, novels, the NBA, sociology, the True, the Good, the Pure

  • architecture
  • photography
  • ballet dancing
  • wine
  • running
  • partying
  • yachting
  • news
  • music
  • electronic music
  • jazz
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • tennis
  • mathematics
  • sociology
  • beaches

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Favorite places: Mexico City, Scotland, Chicago, Paris, Berlin, Vermont, Hong Kong

Countries I’ve Visited

Bahamas, Canada, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Panama, Portugal, Scotland, Spain, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Colombia, Mexico, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Joshua Doc’s full profile.

My Groups